

Lise-Anne Boissière
Director of Local Government Reform and
Strategy

Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government 2 Marsham Street London SW1P 4DF www.gov.uk/mhclg

Chief Executives of councils in Warwickshire

13 June 2025

Dear Chief Executives,

We are writing to confirm the Local Government Reorganisation (LGR) proposal development contributions for Warwickshire. Following the Statutory Invitation Letter dated 5 February 2025, the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government (MHCLG) has agreed to allocate funding of £258,565 to support the development of local government reorganisation proposals in Warwickshire.

The agreed funds for the financial year 2025/26 will be issued as a single, non-ringfenced grant payment under Section 31 of the Local Government Act 2003, with conditions outlined in the Grant Determination. Payments will be sent by BACS by 27 June. Any monitoring or assurance activities for the grant will be conducted through existing, or standard practices.

The allocation for 2025/26, detailed in Annex A, is based on the funding allocation methodology outlined by Jim McMahon MP OBE, Minister of State for Local Government and English Devolution, through a <u>Written Ministerial Statement (WMS)</u> on 3 June.

Warwickshire has collectively agreed for the grant to be paid to:

• Stratford-on-Avon District Council: £129,282.50

Warwickshire County Council: £129,282.50

It is the responsibility of the nominated councils' Section 151 officers to determine eligible expenditure. This expenditure should be agreed upon by all relevant councils and used solely for activities related to developing local government reorganisation proposals, in alignment with the statutory criteria, which has been further restated through the recent WMS and our letter on 3 June.

I have copied this letter to all councils within the Warwickshire area. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact your LGR delivery lead: Jon Scanlan (jonathan.scanlan@communities.gov.uk).

Yours sincerely,

Lise-Anne Boissière – Director of Local Government Reform and Strategy
The Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Enc.

Grant Determination and Annex A - Financial Allocations

LGR PROPOSAL DEVELOPMENT CONTRIBUTIONS GRANT DETERMINATION (2025/26): No 31/7897

Jim McMahon MP OBE, Minister of State for Local Government and English Devolution ("the Minister of State"), in exercise of the powers conferred by section 31 of the Local Government Act 2003, makes the following determination:

Citation

1) This determination may be cited as the LGR Proposal Development Contributions Determination (25/26) [No31/7897].

Purpose of the grant

2) The purpose of the grant is to provide support to local authorities in England towards expenditure lawfully incurred or to be incurred by them.

Determination

3) The Minister of State determines as the authorities to which grant is to be paid and the amount of grant to be paid, the authorities and the amounts set out in Annex A.

Treasury consent

4) Before making this determination in relation to local authorities in England, the Minister of State obtained the consent of the Treasury.

UK Government Branding

- 5) The Grant Recipient shall at all times during and following the end of the Funding Period:
 - 5.1 comply with requirements of the Branding Manual in relation to the Funded Activities; and
 - 5.2 cease use of the Funded by UK Government logo on demand if directed to do so by the Minister of State.
- 6) **Branding Manual** means the HM Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 'Funded by UK Government branding manual' first published by the Cabinet Office in November 2022 and is available at https://gcs.civilservice.gov.uk/guidance/marketing/branding-guidelines/ including any subsequent updates from time to time].

Signed by authority of Jim McMahon MP OBE, Minister of State for Local Government and English Devolution

Lise-Anne Boissière – Director of Local Government Reform and Strategy The Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

13/06/25

Annex A: Financial Allocations June Payments

Area	Nominated Council(s)	Amount
Derbyshire and Derby	Chesterfield Borough Council	£116,860.67
	Derbyshire County Council	£116,860.67
	South Derbyshire District Council	£116,860.67
Devon, Plymouth and		£383,326.00
Torbay	South Hams District Council	
East Sussex and Brighton	East Sussex County Council	£100,674.67
	Wealden District Council	£100,674.67
	Brighton and Hove City Council	£100,674.67
Essex, Southend-on-Sea		£514,318.00
and Thurrock	Harlow District Council	
Gloucestershire	Gloucestershire County Council	£266,855.00
Hertfordshire	Watford Borough Council	£378,077.00
Lincolnshire, North		
Lincolnshire and North East		
Lincolnshire	Lincolnshire County Council	£357,246.00
Nottinghamshire and	Nottinghamshire County Council	£123,251.33
Nottingham	Rushcliffe Borough Council	£123,251.33
	Nottingham City Council	£123,251.33
Oxfordshire	Oxford City Council	£95,015.33
	Oxfordshire County Council	£95,015.33
	West Oxfordshire District Council	£95,015.33
Warwickshire	Stratford-on-Avon District Council	£129,282.50
	Warwickshire County Council	£129,282.50
West Sussex	Horsham District Council	£315,172.00
Worcestershire	Bromsgrove District Council	£257,837.00
Total		£4,038,802