## **DEFRA BOARD: MINUTES 09 December 2024**

The Board members in attendance:

- Steve Reed MP, Secretary of State (Chair)
- Daniel Zeichner MP, Minister of State
- Mary Creagh MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Emma Hardy MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Baroness Hayman of Ullock, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Heather Hancock, Lead Non-Executive Director
- Chris Tyas, Non-Executive Director
- Nick Folland, Non-Executive Director
- Tamara Finkelstein, Permanent Secretary
- David Hill, Director General, Strategy and Water
- Iain King, Chief Financial Officer

#### Also in attendance:

- Secretary of State's Principal Private Secretary
- Permanent Secretary's Chief of Staff
- Board Secretariat
- Supporting officials as relevant

# Note of Defra Board meeting

There were no new declarations of interest from Board members.

## **Permanent Secretary's report**

The Board received an update from the Permanent Secretary on key areas of work across the department.

# **Business Planning and Spending Review Phase 2**

The Board discussed the ongoing Business Planning and Spending Review work.

## **Performance and Risk Report**

The Board reviewed performance and risk for the department.