DEFRA BOARD: MINUTES 01 May 2024

The Board members in attendance:

- Heather Hancock, Lead Non-Executive Board Member (Chair)
- Lord Benyon, Minister of State
- Robbie Moore MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Tamara Finkelstein, Permanent Secretary
- Nick Joicey, Second Permanent Secretary and Chief Operating Officer
- Lucy Smith, Director General, Strategy
- · Iain King, Chief Financial Officer
- Chris Tyas, Non-Executive Board Member

Apologies were received from:

- Steve Barclay MP, Secretary of State
- Mark Spencer MP, Minister of State
- Rebecca Pow MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Lord Douglas- Miller, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Colin Day, Non-Executive Board Member, ARAC Chair

Also in attendance:

- Secretary of State's Principal Private Secretary
- Special Advisors
- Permanent Secretary's Chief of Staff
- Board Secretariat
- Supporting officials as relevant

Note of Defra Board meeting

There were no new declarations of interest from Board members.

Chair's Opening Remarks

The Chair provided the Board with an update on agreed priorities for the department.

Permanent Secretary's Report

The Board received an update from the Permanent Secretary on the ongoing work across the department.

Performance Report

The Board reviewed performance and risk data for the department.

Plan for Water

The Board received a report on the Plan for Water.