SOLAR TASKFORCE

Meeting 7, Wednesday 2nd October 2024, 55 Whitehall

Attendees

Solar Taskforce Co-Chairs

- Rt Hon Ed Miliband MP (Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero)
- Chris Hewett

Core Taskforce

- Michael Shanks MP (Minister for Energy) (deputy chair)
- Gemma Grimes (deputy chair)
- Sarah Redwood (deputy chair)
- Ben Fawcett
- Alexandra DeSouza
- Lawrence Slade
- Liz Cammack
- Mark Wakeford
- Adam Howard
- Ross Grier
- Ian Rippin

Additional attendees

Chris Stark

Apologies were received from Matthew Boulton.

With support from officials from the Department for Energy Security and Net Zero.

Summary

- The Taskforce discussed the policy environment for rooftop and groundmounted solar, considering the additional action required to meet the Government's ambition to decarbonise the grid by 2030.
- The areas covered in discussion include: Clean Power 2030 planning; barriers to rooftop deployment; electricity networks; planning policy; supply chains; skills; and communications.
- The Taskforce agreed that the prompt publication of the Solar Roadmap, fully aligned with Clean Power 2030 modelling and scenarios, would be essential to meeting the Government's ambition.