Onshore Wind Industry Taskforce

Date and Time: 10.30-12.05, Tuesday 10 September 2024

Location: EDF Renewables UK Building, Westminster; Microsoft Teams

Chairs:

Minister Michael Shanks, Minister for Energy

Matthieu Hue, CEO EDF Renewables

Taskforce Delegates

Heather Donald (SSE Renewables)

Dan McGrail (Renewable UK)

Gillian Noble (Scottish Power Jack Norquoy (Scottish Renewables)

Renewables) Fintan Slye (Electricity Systems

Lucy Whitford (RES) Operator)

Eleri Davies (RWE) Steve Thomas (Prospect)
Lisa Christie (Vattenfall) Mike Smyth (Energy4All)

Joanna Ellis (Nadara) Zoisa North-Bond (Octopus Energy

Christine McGregor (BayWa R.E.) Generation)

Jason Welsh (Nordex) Dean Drinkwater (Hutchinson

Dai Richards (Hitachi) Engineering)

With support from officials from the Department for Energy Security and Net Zero.

Summary

- Minister Shanks updated taskforce members on wider DESNZ work and priorities.
- Matthieu Hue set out the progress made by the six taskforce working groups, noting summaries of challenges and potential policies in scope had been provided to all taskforce members.
- Taskforce members discussed points of overlap, contention, and additional areas each working group should consider.
- Minister Shanks set out actions and next steps:
 - Taskforce members to consider how to increase diversity across working groups.
 - Next meeting likely to take place in November.
- Minister Shanks called the meeting to a close