# SUMMARY MINUTES OF THE INTERIM DEVICES WORKING GROUP MEETING HELD ON 12<sup>TH</sup> JUNE 2024

Information is being withheld, under Section 43 of the Freedom of Information Act 2000, on the grounds that information regarding the issue under consideration and advice from the IDWG remains confidential at the date of this summary and will remain so until a final decision has been taken. Any request for future information should be made direct to the MHRA (via <a href="info@mhra.gov.uk">info@mhra.gov.uk</a>) and will be considered in accordance with the FOI Act.

#### Papers for advice

The Group was provided with a presentation on how the MHRA manage applications for clinical investigations. The presentation covered all aspects including initial submission, review, and approvals

The Group considered the evidence presented from the evaluation of risks associated with a number of Assisted Reproductive Technology products. A request was made to bring the topic back to a future meeting once further information had been obtained.

#### Agency device related internal updates

The Group were presented with a high-level summary of any signals concerning medical devices that were assessed by the MHRA in April 2024.

A summary regarding a recent exceptional use authorisation was presented to the Group. This related to Assisted Reproductive Technology products.

#### Appointments to Expert Advisory Groups (EAGS)

The Group approved the appointment of the following member to the Artificial Intelligence, Software and Apps Expert Advisory Group (AISAEAG) for a period of four years:

**Dr Nisha Sharma** MBChB BSc(hons) MRCP FRCR MSc Director of Breast Screening and Clinical Lead for breast imaging Leeds Teaching Hospital NHS Trust

#### **Procedural Items**

In addition, the Group completed its usual procedural business including the need to observe the confidentiality of the meeting, to declare interests, apologies, announcements, approval of minutes, and updates on items previously considered. No interests were declared.

A list of members who participated in the meeting is at **Annex A**.

Medicines Healthcare products Regulatory Agency staff may be present for all or part of the meetings or for specific items.

The meeting started at 10:03 and finished at 11:29.

The next meeting is scheduled to take place on 9<sup>th</sup> July 2024 at 10:00.

## **Useful website links**

## MHRA Website:

Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk)

# MHRA Alerts, recalls and safety information:

Alerts, recalls and safety information: drugs and medical devices - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk)

## Yellow Card Website:

Yellow Card Scheme - MHRA

## Drug Safety Update:

http://www.mhra.gov.uk/Publications/Safetyguidance/DrugSafetyUpdate/index.htm

# MEMBERSHIP OF THE INTERIM DEVICES WORKING GROUP

| Post       | Name and title  | Affiliations   |
|------------|---|--|
| Chair      | Professor Tom Clutton-Brock MBE MB ChB FRCP FRCA FFICM                        | Director, Medical Devices Testing and Evaluation Centre, Clinical Director, NIHR HealthTech Research Centre in Devices, digital and robotics (HRC-DDR), Chair, NICE Interventional Procedures Advisory Committee, Associate Medical Director, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust, Professor of Anaesthesia & Intensive Care Medicine, University of Birmingham |
| Member     | <b>Mr Jonathan Boyle</b> MB ChB MD MA (Cantab) FRCSEd FRCSEng FRCS (Gen.Surg) | Consultant Vascular Surgeon and affiliate Assistant Professor, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Trust  |
| Member     | Professor Richard Bulbulia MA MD FRCS FRCS(Gen)                               | Associate Professor, Clinical Trial Service Unit and Epidemiological Studies Unit, Nuffield Department of Population Health, University of Oxford; Medical Research Council Population Health Research Unit at the University of Oxford; Honorary Consultant Vascular Surgeon, Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust  |
| Member     | Professor Alastair Denniston MA MRCP FRCOphth PhD (apologies)                 | Consultant Ophthalmologist (Uveitis and Medical Retina), University<br>Hospitals Birmingham NHSFT, Honorary Professor and Deputy Director<br>Centre for Regulatory Science and Innovation, University of Birmingham  |
| Lay Member | Dr Rebecca Harmston   |  |
| Member     | Mr Michael Hart BSc (Hons) MBChB AHEA PhD<br>FRCSEd (Neuro.surg) FEBNS        | Senior Lecturer & Honorary Consultant Neurosurgeon, St George's,<br>University of London & St George's University Hospitals NHS Foundation<br>Trust  |
| Member     | Professor Chris Hopkins BSc (Hons) FAHCS FIPEM CEng MIET                      | Consultant Clinical Scientist, Honorary Professor and Clinical Director,<br>Assistive Technologies Innovation Centre, University of Wales Trinity Saint<br>David, Head of the Tritech Institute, Hywel Dda University Health Board,<br>Assistant Director of Health Science and AHP's, Betsi Cadwaladr University<br>Health Board  |
| Member     | Mr Sebastian Janner MSci MSc  | Clinical Scientist, Royal Brompton and Harefield Hospitals   |
| Member     | Professor Tom Joyce PhD MSc BEng  | Professor of Orthopaedic Engineering, Newcastle University   |
|            |   |  |

| Post       | Name and title  | Affiliations  |
|------------|---|---|
| Member     | <b>Professor Daniel Martin</b> OBE, BSc, MB ChB, PhD, FRCA, FFICM                 | Professor of Perioperative and Intensive Care Medicine, Peninsula Medical School, University of Plymouth  |
| Member     | Dr Rubeta Matin PhD BSc (Hons) MBBS FRCP(Derm)                                    | Consultant Dermatologist, Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust; Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer, University of Oxford                                 |
| Member     | <b>Dr Tom Pelly</b> MBBS BSc (Hons) DCH PGCE FRCP FRCGP                           | GP Partner, Horfield Health Centre, Bristol; Clinical Director, Phoenix Primary Care Network, Bristol; RCGP Representative  |
| Member     | <b>Professor Muireann Quigley</b> BSc (Med) BSc(Hons)<br>MBChB MA PhD (apologies) | Chair in Law, Medicine, and Technology, Birmingham Law School, University of Birmingham   |
| Member     | Dr Neil Smart BSc (Hons) MBChB FCAI MBA   | Chair of the Scottish Health Technologies Group, Consultant Anaesthetist NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde and Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer, University of Glasgow |
| Lay Member | Ms Josephine Tapper   |   |
| Observer   | Peter Barry   | Consultant Clinical Advisor, Centre for Guidelines, National Institute for Health and Care Excellence   |
| Observer   | Sarah Jennings  | Patient Safety Clinical Lead - Medical Devices, NHS England   |