Case No: 2601977/2022 & Others 2601492/2022 & Others



EMPLOYMENT TRIBUNALS

Claimants: Mr S Safdar & Others

Mr J Gains & Others

Respondent: (1) Urban Splash Modular Limited (in Administration)

(2) Secretary of State for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy

Heard at: Nottingham **On:** 4 December 2023

Before: Employment Judge McTigue sitting alone

Representation

Claimants: No appearance First Respondent: No appearance Second Respondent: No appearance

JUDGMENT

- 1. Employment Judge Hutchinson notified the parties on 23 November 2023 that this matter did not require the attendance of the parties and would be dealt with on the papers.
- 2. In reaching its decision today, the Tribunal considered written representations in accordance with Rule 42 of the Employment Tribunals Rules of Procedure 2013
- 3. Upon review of the file today, the Tribunal noted that individual case numbers had not previously been assigned to the cases of Mr John Carlisle, Mr Stephen White-Wood and My Haydn Simpkiss. That was rectified today and the relevant case numbers for these individuals appear in the attached schedule.
- 4. The Claimants contained in the attached schedule ("the Claimants") were employed by the First Respondent.
- 5. The First Respondent failed to organise the election of employee representatives and to consult the Claimants in accordance with sections 188 and 188A of the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 ("TULCRA").
- 6. Accordingly, the Claimants' complaint pursuant to TULCRA section 189 are well founded and succeeds.
- 7. The First Respondent is ordered to pay renumeration to the Claimants for a protected period of 90 days beginning on 11 May 2022.
- 8. The Employment Protection (Recoupment of Jobseeker's Allowance and Income

Case No: 2601977/2022 & Others 2601492/2022 & Others

Support) Regulations 1996 apply to this award.

Employment Judge McTigue
Date: 4 December 2023
JUDGMENT SENT TO THE PARTIES ON
20 January 2024
FOR THE TRIBUNAL OFFICE

Notes

1. Written reasons will not be provided unless a written request is presented by any party within 14 days of the sending of this written record of the decision.

Public access to employment tribunal decisions

Judgments and reasons for the judgments are published, in full, online at www.gov.uk/employment-tribunal-decisions shortly after a copy has been sent to the claimant(s) and respondent(s) in a case.

SCHEDULE OF CLAIMANTS

Case Number	Claimant Name
2601492/2022	Mr Jason Gains
2601493/2022	Mrs Rachel Moreton
2601494/2022	Mr Matthew House
2601495/2022	Mr Robert Yeatman
2601496/2022	Mr Nigel Parker
2603220/2023	Mr John Carlisle
2603221/2023	Mr Stephen White-Wood
2603222/2023	My Haydn Simpkiss
2601977/2022	Mr Shahzad Safdar
2601978/2022	Miss Jana Channing
2601979/2022	Mr Uzman Ramzan
2601980/2022	Mr Ross Kilshaw
2601981/2022	Mr Matthew Smith
2601982/2022	Mr Jaydon Stewart
2601983/2022	Mr Reece Stewart
2601984/2022	Mr Andrew Rowe
2601985/2022	Mr Michael Bates
2601986/2022	Mr Patrik Urban
2601987/2022	Mr Gareth Stevenson
2601988/2022	Mr Dean Lindley
2601989/2022	Mr Paul Fox
2601990/2022	Mr Lewis Parkin
2601991/2022	Mr Jack Gardner
2601992/2022	Mr Leam Cartledge
2601993/2022	Mr Paul Bottomley
2601994/2022	Mr Troy Wood
2601995/2022	Mr Mario Kucej
2601996/2022	Mr Marius Bogdan Braicu
2601997/2022	Mr Paul Chamberlain
2601998/2022	Mr Gregory Allen
2601999/2022	Mr Curtis Williams
2602000/2022	Mr Stephen Paul Stewart
2602001/2022	Mr Christopher Croucher
2602002/2022	Mr Mitchell Williams
2602003/2022	Mr James Hammond
2602004/2022	Mr Michael Hackett
2602005/2022	Mr Mark Ashmore
2602006/2022	Mr Daniel Daggett-Hall
2602007/2022	Mr Gary Andrew Newton
2602008/2022	Mr Karl Palmer
2602009/2022	Mr Martin Cann

Case No: 2601977/2022 & Others 2601492/2022 & Others

	200
2602010/2022	Mr Aaron Shaun Hardy
2602011/2022	Mr Cherno Sowe
2602012/2022	Mr Tomasz Nowak
2602013/2022	Mr Daniel Palmer
2602014/2022	Mr John Stewart
2602015/2022	Mr Peter Wharton
2602016/2022	Mr Benjamin Hawkes
2602017/2022	Mr Robert Kendall
2602018/2022	Mr Jack Booth
2602019/2022	Mr Silviu Girleanu
2602020/2022	Mr Timothy Carlin
2602021/2022	Mr Josh Eden
2602022/2022	Mr Milun Lazarevic
2602023/2022	Mr Paul White
2602024/2022	Mr Max Bates
2602025/2022	Miss Naomi Jones
2602026/2022	Mr Zak Denny
2602027/2022	Mr Connor Williams
2602028/2022	Mr Stephen Clay
2602029/2022	Miss Lauren Harvey
2602030/2022	Miss Olivia Bennett
2602031/2022	Mr Stephen Parkin
2602032/2022	Mr Corey Chapman