Defra Board minutes: 5 February 2024

Board members in attendance were:

- Steve Barclay MP, Secretary of State (Chair)
- Mark Spencer MP, Minister of State
- Rebecca Pow MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Robbie Moore MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Lord Douglas- Miller, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Tamara Finkelstein, Permanent Secretary
- Nick Joicey, Second Permanent Secretary and Chief Operating Officer
- Lucy Smith, Director General, Strategy
- Iain King, Chief Financial Officer
- Heather Hancock, Lead Non-Executive Board Member
- Colin Day, Non-Executive Board Member, ARAC Chair
- Chris Tyas, Non-Executive Board Member

Apologies were received from:

• Lord Benyon, Minister of State

Also in attendance were:

- Secretary of State's Principal Private Secretary
- Special Advisors
- Permanent Secretary's Chief of Staff
- Board Secretariat
- Supporting officials as relevant

Note of Defra Board meeting

There were no new declarations of interest from Board members.

Secretary of State's opening remarks

The Secretary of State provided the Board with an update on his priorities for the department.

Permanent Secretary's report

The Board received an update from the Permanent Secretary on the ongoing work across the department.

Performance and risk update

The Board reviewed performance and risk data for the Department.

Farming Programme

The Board received a report on the progress of the Farming Programme.