## Section 62A of the Town and Country Planning Act 1990 Designation Notice

On 19 October 2022 the Secretary of State laid before Parliament a document setting out the criteria for designation and de-designation under section 62B of the Town and Country Planning Act 1990 ("the designation criteria"). Neither House of Parliament resolved that the designation criteria should not be approved within the 40-day period referred to in that section.

In applying the designation criteria, the Secretary of State has considered data for the 2 year period ending on 30 September 2023 on the speed of making decisions on applications for planning permission for non-major development, made by local planning authorities.

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 62A of the Town and Country Planning Act 1990, and by reference to the designation criteria mentioned above, considers that there are respects in which the local planning authority specified below are not adequately performing their function of determining applications for planning permission for non-major development under Part 3 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1990 and, therefore, it is appropriate to make the following Designation:

St Albans City and District Council in respect of applications for planning permission for non-major development.

As set out in paragraph 11 of the designation criteria, where an authority is designated for their performance in determining applications for non-major development, applicants for householder applications and retrospective applications will not be able to submit their applications to the Planning Inspectorate. These applications should continue to be submitted to the Council.

## **Duration of designation:**

This designation has effect from 09.00 on 6 March 2024 and shall remain in force until revoked

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities and Minister for Intergovernmental Relations

Date: 6 March 2024

Lee Rowley MP

Minister of State for Housing, Planning and Building Safety Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communitie