SOLAR TASKFORCE

Meeting 3, Wednesday 6th September 2023, 1 Victoria Street, hybrid

Attendees

Solar Taskforce Co-Chairs

- Rt Hon. Graham Stuart MP (virtual)
- Chris Hewett

Core Taskforce

- Gemma Grimes (deputy chair)
- Sarah Redwood (deputy chair)
- Alexandra DeSouza
- Ben Fawcett
- Lawrence Slade
- Liz MacFarlane (virtual)
- Mark Wakeford
- Ross Grier

Apologies from Ian Rippin and Adam Howard.

Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities

• Lucy Hargreaves

With support from analysts and officials from the Department for Energy Security and Net Zero.

Summary

- The Taskforce discussed an analysis of solar deployment trajectories produced by Department for Energy Security and Net Zero analysts.
- The Taskforce discussed four key areas of the planning regime that can cause barriers to deployment: (i) resourcing in local authorities, the Planning Inspectorate and statutory consultees; (i) capacity threshold for Nationally Significant Infrastructure Projects (NSIPs); (iii) planning fees structure; and (iv) permitted development rights.
- The chairs of each of the five subgroups on (i) networks, (ii) skills, (iii) rooftop solar, (iv) supply chains and innovation and (v) communications provided action reports following their recent subgroup meetings.