Defra Board minutes: 06 February 2023

Board members in attendance were:

- Dr Thérèse Coffey, Secretary of State
- Mark Spencer, Minister of State
- Lord Benyon, Minister of State
- Tamara Finkelstein, Permanent Secretary
- Sarah Homer, Director General, Chief Operating Officer
- Lucy Smith, Director General, Strategy
- Iain King, Chief Financial Officer
- Colin Day, Non-Executive Director
- Elizabeth Buchanan, Non-Executive Director
- Lizzie Noel, Non-Executive Director
- Tony Juniper, Non-Executive Ex-Officio

Apologies were received from:

- Trudy Harrison, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Rebecca Pow, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Henry Dimbleby, Lead Non-Executive Director
- Alan Lovell, Non-Executive Ex-Officio

Also in attendance were:

- Secretary of State's Private Secretary
- Permanent Secretary's Private Secretary
- Board Secretariat
- supporting officials as relevant

Note of Defra Board meeting

There were no new declarations of interest from Board members. The minutes of the previous meeting held on 19 October 2022 were agreed.

Secretary of State's update

The Secretary of State provided the Board with an update on her priorities for the department.

Permanent Secretary's report

The Board received an update from the Permanent Secretary on the ongoing work across the department.

Business planning

The Board received an update on the progress on business planning from Lucy Smith, Director General, Strategy and Change and discussed proposed areas of prioritisation.

Non-Executive Directors (NEDs) report

The NEDs provided an update to the Board on the work they had been doing across the department.