Defra Board minutes: 19 October 2022

Board members in attendance were:

- Ranil Jayawardena, Secretary of State
- Mark Spencer, Minister of State
- Scott Mann, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Lord Benyon, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Trudy Harrison, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
- Tamara Finkelstein, Permanent Secretary
- Sarah Homer, Director General, Chief Operating Officer
- Philip Lloyd, Interim Group Finance Director
- Henry Dimbleby, Lead Non-Executive Director
- Colin Day, Non-Executive Director
- Elizabeth Buchanan, Non-Executive Director
- Lizzie Noel, Non-Executive Director
- Alan Lovell, Non-Executive Ex-Officio
- Tony Juniper, Non-Executive Ex-Officio

Apologies were received from Lucy Smith, Director General, Strategy and Change.

Also in attendance were:

- Secretary of State's Private Secretary
- Permanent Secretary's Private Secretary
- Board Secretariat
- · supporting officials as relevant

Note of Defra Board meeting

There were no new declarations of interest from Board members and new Board members confirmed their public declarations of interest were up to date. The minutes of the previous meeting held on 19 July 2022 were agreed.

Secretary of State's update

The Secretary of State provided the Board with an update on his new priorities for the department.

Winter risks and preparedness

The Board received and discussed the winter risks picture and departmental readiness, including the areas of most concern for the department and its sectors.

Defra performance update

The Defra Board reviewed performance, risk, financial, and health and safety data for the department.

Permanent Secretary's report

The Board received an update from the Permanent Secretary on the ongoing work across the department.