IN THE (MIDLANDS WEST)

annexed EMPLOYMENT TRIBUNAL

Between

SEE SCHEDULE ANNEXED

Claimants

CASE NO: see schedule

- and -

DEBENHAMS RETAIL LIMITED (IN ADMINISTRATION)

Respondent

JUDGMENT

- 1. The claimants listed in the attached schedule to this Judgment (the "Claimants") were all employed by the First Respondent in Oxford Street.
- 2. On 9 April 2020, the First Respondent entered administration and Geoffrey Paul Rowley and Alastair Rex Massey (both of FRP Advisory, 2nd Floor, 110 Cannon Street, London, EC4N 6EU) were appointed as joint administrators ("Joint Administrators").
- 3. The Claimants were dismissed by the First Respondent by reason of redundancy on or after 31 May 2020.
- 4. The Claimants raised a complaint pursuant to section 189 of The Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 (the "Act") and are seeking a protective award in respect of failure to consult in accordance with s.188 and s.188A of the Act.

- 5. The Claimants were all assigned to an establishment where 20 or more redundancies were proposed by their employer within a period of 90 days. The First Respondent did not fully inform and consult with the Claimants in accordance with the provisions of s.188 and s.188A of the Act.
- 6. The protected period should be 90 days from the date of the first dismissal (31 May 2020)
- 7. The Protective Award Payments will rank as unsecured claims in the insolvency of the First Respondent but some of the Protective Award Payments may be wholly recoverable from the Redundancy Payments Service.
- 8. There is no order requiring any party to pay or reimburse another party's costs or fees. Each party shall bear their own costs and fees.
- 9. For the avoidance of doubt, this Judgment applies to the listed Claimants only.
- 10. To the extent that the claim forms may have intimated any other claims they will stand dismissed automatically 14 days after the date of this order UNLESS the claimant writes in specifying any outstanding claim and providing administrator consent in respect thereof within that timeframe.

Employment Judge Broughton

Date: 17 January 2023

Annex

Title	Firstname	Surname	Case number
Mr	Richard Edward Morgan	Fellows	2205997/2020
Miss	Jayne	Alcock	2206333/2020
Ms	Clare	Aslett	2206011/2020
Ms	Laura	Baker	2206334/2020
Ms	Claire	Ball	2206335/2020
Miss	Amy	Batchelor	2205979/2020
Ms	Clare	Baumfield	1301117/2021
Ms	Jasmina	Bencedic	2206336/2020
Ms	Sarah	Bennett	2206010/2020
Mrs	Dorothy	Blakemore	2205978/2020
Ms	Emma Louise	Booth	2205975/2020
Ms	Alexandra Diane	Bradford	2205982/2020
Mrs	Jane	Broad	2206001/2020
Ms	Susan	Carson	2204242/2020
Miss	Lisa-Marie	Chaplin	2205972/2020
Miss	Lesley	Chapman	2203782/2020
Ms	Dawn	Chappell	2206337/2020
Miss	Rebecca	Cooper	2205976/2020
Mrs	Elaine	Corr	2205986/2020

Ms	Julia	Croucher	2206009/2020			
Miss	Nicola	Cummings	2205988/2020			
Mr	Jay	Dallamore	2205714/2020			
Miss	Aileen	Day	2206005/2020			
Mrs	Yvonne	Doherty	2205995/2020			
Miss	Joanne	Furzer	2204797/2020			
Mrs	Valerie	Gilbert	2203417/2020			
Ms	Sarah	Haberfield	2206007/2020			
Mrs	Rebecca	Hardie	2206008/2020			
Mrs	Elsie Ann	Harrison	2205992/2020			
Mrs	Tracey	Hawkins	2206338/2020			
Miss	Rachel	Herron	2206002/2020			
Miss	Hannah	Hunter	2203746/2020			
Mrs	Claire	Jordan- Francis	2206004/2020			
Miss	Lauren	Kane	2205999/2020			
Miss	Tara	Lam	2203702/2020			
Miss	Donna	Lamb	2205981/2020			
Mrs	Annette	Learmonth	2205991/2020			
Miss	Wing Ting	Ма	2205984/2020			
Mrs	Giselle	Manning	2205994/2020			
Miss	Tiffany	McAuliffe	2205987/2020			
Miss	Leslie	McGinity	2206000/2020			

Miss	Elin	Moore	2204323/2020
Miss	Elizabeth	Morgan	2205563/2020
Mrs	Angela	Ness	2206339/2020
Ms	Susan	Ralls	2206006/2020
Mr	Bruce Alexander	Ross	2205996/2020
Ms	Alana	Rowe	2206340/2020
Miss	Rebecca	Ryan	2205983/2020
Ms	Gillian	Scrivener	2206341/2020
Miss	Becki	Shone	2205973/2020
Mr	Clyde	Simpson	2205985/2020
Ms	Sara	Sinclair	2206342/2020
Mr	Stuart Paul	Smith	2205974/2020
Mrs	Bernadette	Smith	2205990/2020
Ms	Davina	Stopher- Sellers	2206343/2020
Ms	Angela	Surey	2206344/2020
Mrs	Elaine	Warman	2205989/2020
Ms	Trisha	Westwood	2205993/2020
Miss	Laura	Wheatley	2205998/2020
Miss	Chantel	Whitaker	2206003/2020
Miss	Christa	Wilson	2205980/2020