### **Online Advertising Taskforce - Terms of Reference**

#### Objectives

The Online Advertising Taskforce will support the aims of the Online Advertising Programme to improve transparency and accountability in the online advertising supply chain. It will do this by agreeing upon and delivering a programme of work to help address illegal advertising and minimise children being served advertising for products and services illegal to sell to them ('in-scope harms'), in anticipation of regulation being introduced in due course.

### Purpose

The Taskforce aims to work with the advertising industry, regulators and relevant government departments to:

- improve the evidence around in-scope harms; and
- identify ways in which we can enhance voluntary initiatives or standards to tackle in-scope harms, by pushing the ambition and/or take-up of these initiatives and considering the development of new standards where gaps are identified.

These will be delivered through a plan of action for government, regulators and industry to take forward.

### Frequency and duration

The Taskforce will convene for at least 12 months, at which point the remit and membership of the Taskforce will be reviewed.

The Taskforce will meet at least three times a year. Any working groups established will be responsible for determining the frequency of their meetings.

### Membership

The Taskforce will be chaired by the Minister for Media, Tourism and Creative Industries and will include a mix of experts and industry participants from across the online advertising supply chain, regulators, government departments, and trade bodies.

Other relevant stakeholders may be invited by the government to take part on specific agenda items or in targeted working groups.

Taskforce members are:

- Rt Hon Sir John Whittingdale MP, Minister for Media, Tourism and Creative Industries (DCMS) **Chair**
- Mark Lund, Chairman, Advertising Standards Board of Finance (Asbof) Deputy
  Chair
- Anthony Browne MP, Anti-Fraud Champion, Home Office (HO)
- Jemima Murray, Deputy Director of Fraud Policy, Home Office (HO)
- Daniel Okubo, Deputy Director for Online Harms Programmes and International, Department for Science, Innovation and Technology (DSIT)

- David Marshall, Deputy Director for Consumer Policy, Department for Business and Trade (DBT)
- Guy Parker, Chief Executive, Advertising Standards Authority (ASA)
- Phil Smith, Director General, Incorporated Society of British Advertisers (ISBA)
- Christie Dennehy-Neil, Head of Policy & Regulatory Affairs, Internet Advertising Bureau (IAB)
- Konrad Shek, Director of Policy Research, Advertising Association (AA)
- Richard Lindsay, Director of Legal and Public Affairs, Institute of Practitioners in Advertising (IPA)
- Sayra Tekin, Director of Legal, News Media Association (NMA)
- Simon Miller, Director of Policy and Communications, Stop Scams
- Antony Walker, Deputy CEO, TechUK

# Role of members

Taskforce members will:

- Actively contribute to the three ministerial-chaired meetings of the Taskforce.
- Develop recommendations on how best to deliver the objectives of the Taskforce.
- This may include establishing working groups to develop and take forward actions in specific areas in between meetings.
- The Chairs and members will jointly agree to any working groups and their remit. Working groups may include members from outside the Taskforce membership.
- Taskforce members will commit to contributing proactively to the work of the Taskforce, which will include attending meetings and participating in working groups as necessary. Use of substitutes to attend meetings are acceptable by prior agreement of the Chairs.
- Taskforce members are there to support and deliver non-legislative solutions regarding online advertising harms on behalf of their own organisations and through facilitating action from industry.

# Secretariat and logistics

The Secretariat for the Taskforce will be led by DCMS officials. The Secretariat will be responsible for arranging meetings, circulating papers at least three working days in advance of each meeting and recording minutes of meetings. The Secretariat will also maintain and track progress of the agreed work plan. Meetings will be held under the Chatham House rule. Each meeting will last for an hour.