Solar Taskforce

Meeting 1, Thursday 25 May 2023

1 Victoria Street (hybrid)

Attendees

Solar Taskforce Co-Chairs

- Rt Hon. Graham Stuart MP
- Chris Hewett

Core Taskforce

- Gemma Grimes (deputy chair)
- Sarah Redwood (deputy chair)
- Ben Fawcett
- Alexandra DeSouza
- Liz MacFarlane
- Mark Wakeford
- Ross Grier
- Adam Howard
- Ian Rippin
- Lawrence Slade (online)

With support from officials from Solar Energy UK and the Department for Energy Security and Net Zero (including communications representatives).

Summary

- The Taskforce agreed its Terms of Reference
- The Taskforce discussed initial proposals for priorities, chairs and membership of supporting subgroups to focus on identifying and delivering the actions needed to address challenges relating to electricity networks, skills, rooftop solar and supply chains and innovation. It agreed that a further subgroup should be set up to develop and coordinate work on communications.
- The Taskforce agreed that the subgroups should meet as soon as possible to produce work plans and present them to the Taskforce at its next meeting.
- The Taskforce discussed initial plans for developing the solar deployment roadmap.