Solar Taskforce - Terms of Reference

Purpose

To bring together key players from Government, industry, regulatory and other relevant organisations to drive forward the increases in rooftop and ground mount solar needed to accomplish the Government's 2030 Clean Power Mission, laying the groundwork for longer-term growth.

Key objectives

- Strategic Roadmap: Assisting in the development of, and securing cross Government and industry buy-in to, a UK Roadmap setting out a clear deployment trajectory to achieve solar deployment commensurate with the Government's 2030 ambition.
- **Taking Action**: Government and Industry working together to identify and drive forward processes and measures to unlock deployment.
- Securing Investment and Value for Money: As the sector grows, putting in place structures to facilitate continued progress on cost reduction and ensure investment in UK supply chains, jobs, skills, innovation and infrastructure is enabled sustainably.

Membership

Chairs

Joint Chairs:

Rt Hon Ed Miliband MP, Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero

Chris Hewett, Chief Executive of Solar Energy UK

Deputy Chairs:

Michael Shanks MP, Minister for Energy

Sarah Redwood, Director, Renewable Electricity Directorate, Department for Energy Security and Net Zero

Gemma Grimes, Director of Policy and Delivery, Solar Energy UK

Core Membership:

Name	Position, organisation
Ben Fawcett	Head of Solar, EDF Renewables
Alex DeSouza	General Counsel EMEA and Head of Transactions, Lightsource bp
Liz Cammack	Director, Segen
Mark Wakeford	Chairman, EVO Energy
Adam Howard	Director, UK Infrastructure Bank

Name	Position, Organisation
Ross Grier	Managing Director, Next Energy Capital
lan Rippin	Chief Executive Officer, Microgeneration Certification Scheme
Lawrence Slade	Chief Executive Officer, Energy Networks Association

If a member cannot attend a Taskforce meeting, they may nominate a deputy to attend on their behalf, with notification of the attendee being sent to the Secretariat ahead of the meeting.

Taskforce Subgroups

Subgroups were formed during the previous drafting process. These focussed on identifying and delivering the actions needed to address challenges relating to electricity networks; skills; rooftop solar; communications; and supply chains and innovation.

These will formally remain in place, but it is not anticipated that further meetings will necessarily be required. Subgroups may be convened as necessary to assist in the drafting process, at the discretion of the Chair.

Subgroups will all include representatives from DESNZ Renewable Electricity Directorate (RED) and Solar Energy UK (SEUK) joint secretariat to enable work to be reported back to the main taskforce.

The Taskforce or its subgroups may seek additional advice from others outside of the Taskforce and its subgroups, if it is deemed by the Taskforce that additional specialist input on a specific issue is required.

Timing of meetings

The Taskforce will meet in early Autumn to discuss necessary changes and updates to the Solar Roadmap. The Taskforce will meet again at least once to approve the final draft of the updated Roadmap.

Outputs

The Taskforce will oversee the production of the draft Solar Roadmap by the end of 2024.

Secretariat

The Secretariat will be jointly run by members of the Renewable Electricity Team in the Department for Energy Security and Net Zero and staff from Solar Energy UK. Their role is to ensure the Taskforce functions smoothly, including monitoring outputs from meetings of the Taskforce and its subgroups, ensuring that actions are allocated and completed by the given deadlines.

The Secretariat will, wherever possible, circulate papers for the group three days prior to meetings. The Secretariat will take minutes of meetings and will circulate to attendees as soon as possible after meetings.