THE FORESTRY COMMISSION The Official Controls (Plant Health and Genetically Modified Organisms) (England) Regulations 2019

The Plant Health (*Phytophthora pluvialis*) (Demarcated Area No. 15) Notice

A plant health inspector appointed by the Forestry Commissioners for the purposes of the Official Controls (Plant Health and Genetically Modified Organisms) (England) Regulations 2019 ("the Regulations") has confirmed the presence of *Phytophthora pluvialis* on premises in the counties of Devon and Cornwall.

The Forestry Commissioners, in exercise of the powers conferred by regulation 17(1)-(2) of the Regulations, give the following notice:

Citation

- 1. This notice
 - a) may be cited as the Plant Health (*Phytophthora pluvialis*) (Demarcated Area No.15) Notice; and
 - b) with effect from midday on 24 January 2023, revokes and replaces the Plant Health (*Phytophthora pluvialis*) (Demarcated Area No.10) Notice made at 07:45 on 14 April 2022.

Demarcated area

2. Pursuant to regulation 17(2)(a) of the Regulations, the area in the counties of Devon and Cornwall within the boundary described in Annex 1, and shown depicted on the map in Annex 2, is demarcated.

Prohibition on the movement of susceptible material

3. Pursuant to regulation 17(2)(b) of the Regulations, no person may move any relevant susceptible material out of or within the demarcated area specified in this notice, unless authorised in writing by an inspector.

Relevant susceptible material

4. For the purposes of paragraph 3 above, relevant susceptible material means any plants for planting of the genus *Tsuga*, *Pseudotsuga*, *Pinus* and *Notholithocarpus* that has originated or is residing within the demarcated area.

Commencement of prohibition

Richard Borker

5. The measures stipulated in this notice, apply on and after midday on 24 January 2023 until further notice.

Signed

Richard Barker

Secretary to the Forestry Commissioners, 17 January 2023

ANNEX 1 Description of the extent of the demarcated area

The boundary begins on the A3082 Harbour Road at SX074530 where the road crosses the railway line. It follows Harbour Road northeast for 300m to SX075533 and then follows the coastline east to Bigbury on-Sea where Parker Road meets Marine Drive at SX650443.

From SX650443 the boundary follows the B3392 north to Bigbury continuing northwest to Seven Stones Cross at SX658490 and continuing northeast on this road until meeting the A379 at Harraton Cross SX672505.

From SX672505 the boundary follows the A379 west through Modbury, to Modbury Cross SX627520. From Modbury Cross the boundary follows the A3121 northeast to SX685577 where it follows the slip road north, meeting the A38 at SX686581.

The boundary follows the A38 northeast past Ashburton until the slip road leading onto the A383 at SX783718. It follows the A383 eastward through Newton Abbot until it reaches a roundabout crossing over the A380 at SX870706. It exits onto Shaldon Road at SX872706 and after 80m joins St Marychurch Road at SX873706.

The boundary then follows St Marychurch Road to the junction with Honey Lane at SX907685 and continues southeast onto Claddon Lane. At SX919684 the boundary joins the A379 for 600m until meeting Steep Hill at SX923686 where it follows the road to Maidencombe Beach.

At Maidencombe Beach SX927684 the boundary follows the coastline northeast to Exmouth. At SX994806 the boundary follows Victoria Road to SX998808 where it meets Imperial Road which it follows until joining the A376 at SY000810.

The boundary follows the A37 through Clyst St George and heads towards Sandy Gate roundabout. The boundary crosses the roundabout onto the Sidmouth Road at SX966914 and continues to follow this road until it meets the B3183 at SX953924.

It Follows the B3183 through west through Exeter until Exeter College where it joins Hele Road at SX916931. At the end of this road, it joins St David's Hill northwards to the A377 which it follows for 70m before joining Station Road at SX912934.

At the end of Station Road, the boundary follows Exwick Road south to Redhills at SX907923. It follows Redhills road northwest to Nadderwater

and remains on this unclassified road west through Whitestone to Tedburn St Mary. At SX782933 the boundary joins the A30.

It then follows the A30 westward until an exit road at SX620950, following this road for 150 metres until it joins the B3260 at SX619950. It then follows the B3260 west through Okehampton until it reaches New Road Cross at SX576944.

At SX576944, the boundary follows the minor road Beacon Down Hill west until it joins the A386 at SX564945, it follows this road west until it meets the A3079 at SX559943. It then follows this road west, past Halwill Junction, until it meets a junction with the A3072 at SS405038.

The boundary follows the A3072 westward until it meets the A388 at SS345034, here it follows the A388 north into Holsworthy, re-joining the A3072 at SS343039. It follows the A3072 westward to Stratton where it meets the A39 at SS226065.

The boundary stays on the A39 southwest, through Camelford, until Knightsmill at SX207805 where the boundary joins the B3267 through St Teath to Westdowns. The boundary joins the B3314 heading southwest at SX059828. At SX013790, located just past Treharrock, the boundary turns north onto the B3267 towards Port Isaac. At the end of the B3267 in Port Isaac the boundary jumps onto the coastline.

The boundary follows the coastline until it comes back inland at SW832628 at Porth Beach in Newquay and joins onto the B3276 heading south. After 900m the boundary turns onto the A3058 heading east at SW829620 before taking the A3059 at SW841615 towards St Columb Major. At St Columb Major, the A3059 meets the A39 at a roundabout (SW912623) and the boundary takes the exit to turn south onto the A39. The boundary stays with the A39 and takes the slip road onto the A30 heading east at SW923591.

The boundary follows the A30 east to the slipway for the A391 at SX026628. The boundary follows the A391 south towards Lockengate, then southwest to Bugle and then south to Stenalees.

At the roundabout at SX011567 the boundary follows the first exit continuing on the A391 southeast to the junction with the A390 Holmbush Road SX044528. It follows the A390 east to the next roundabout at SX050531 where it takes the second exit onto Par Moor Road A3082. The boundary continues on Par Moor Road until returning to where it crosses the railway line at SX074530.

ANNEX 2 - Map of demarcated area

