Defra Board Minutes: 24 May 2022

Board Members in attendance were

George Eustice Victoria Prentis	Secretary of State Minister of State
Rebecca Pow	Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Lord Benyon	Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Tamara Finkelstein	Permanent Secretary
Sarah Homer	Director General and Chief Operating Officer
David Hill	Director General, Environment, Rural and Marine
David Kennedy	Director General, Future Farming and Biosecurity
Lucy Smith	Director General, Strategy and Change
Heather Smith	Group Finance Director
Henry Dimbleby	Lead Non-Executive Director
Colin Day	Non-Executive Director
Elizabeth Buchanan	Non-Executive Director
Lizzie Noel	Non-Executive Director
Ben Goldsmith	Non-Executive Director
Emma Howard Boyd	Non-Executive Ex-Officio
Tony Juniper	Non-Executive Ex-Officio

Apologies were received from

Lord Goldsmith	Minister of State
Jo Churchill	Parliamentary Under Secretary of State

Also in attendance were

- Secretary of State's Office
- Lord Benyon's Office
- Minister Prentis' Office
- Minister Pow's Office
- Board Secretariat

Note of Defra Board Meeting

There were no new declarations of interest from Board members. The minutes of the previous meeting held on 14 March 2022 were agreed.

Secretary of State's Update

The Secretary of State provided the Board with an update on departmental priorities, the impacts and causes of inflation and progress made on Defra's agenda.

Permanent Secretary's Report and FTE Resourcing

The Board received an update from the Permanent Secretary on the work ongoing across the department and the departments plans to meet the government FTE resourcing target.

Food Insecurity and Food Prices

The Board received an update on the challenges with rising cost of food prices and its causes from David Kennedy, Director General, Food, Farming and Biosecurity.

Non-Executive Directors (NEDs) Report

The NEDs provided an update to the Board on the work they had been doing across the department.