Case Number: 1404614/2020



EMPLOYMENT TRIBUNALS

Claimant: Unite the Union

Respondent: JD Lydney (In Administration)

JUDGMENT BY CONSENT

UPON reading the joint application submitted by the claimants together with the agreement of the respondent

AND UPON the relevant parties having agreed to the terms of the Judgment set out below by consent

The Judgment of the Employment Tribunal made under Rule 64 of Schedule 1 of the Employment Tribunals (Constitution & Rules of Procedure) Regulations 2013 is that:

- 1. The Respondents are ordered to pay each of the Claimants set out in the attached list (the Protective Award Claimants) a protective award of 6 weeks pay under Section 189 of the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992;
- 2. These claims are for a protective award ('the PA') under the provisions of S184(2)(d) of the Employment Rights Act 1996 (the ERA'). As per this Section, the Secretary of State ('the SOS') is liable to pay the maximum of 8 weeks of Arrears of pay including any PA awarded by the employment tribunal under the provision of Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992. In this case that level of PA is 6 weeks:
- 3. The "establishment rule" applies and the parties confirm that more than 20 employees are party to these proceedings;
- 4. The claims brought by the Claimant (Claim Number 1404614/2020, and any other claim by any of the Claimants) are dismissed;

Case Number: 1404614/2020

5. No order for expenses (costs) is made in favour of any party.

LIST OF EMPLOYEES

- Mr Ian Bailey
- Mr Timothy Bird
- Mr Tom Bollen
- Mr Robert Brooks
- Mr Paul Burnard
- Mr Michael Casey
- Mr Stephen Church
- Mrs Kerrin Corner
- Mr Ivor Cullis
- Mr Paul Davis
- Mr Kevin Edey
- Mr James Edge
- Mr Richard Elliot
- Mr Lee Elsmore
- Mr Stephen Fuller
- Mr Michael Guest
- Mr Wayne Gwynne
- Mr Nigel Hale
- Mr Timothy Hamer
- Mr Jamie Hammond
- Mr Michael Hancock
- Mr Paul Hanson
- Mr Richard Harding
- Mr Stephen Harding
- Mr Mark Holloway
- Mr Danny Hudson
- Mr Steven James
- Mr Richard Jenkins
- Mr Mark Knox
- Mr Nicholas Locke
- Mr Blair Martin
- Mr Samuel Mayhew
- Mr Patrick Mayo
- Mr Andrew Mudway
- Mr Panna Paul
- Mr Simon Peachey
- Mr Gareth Pearce
- Mr Martyn Penny
- Mr Andrew Phillips
- Mr Ian Powell
- Mr Terry Powell
- Mr Wayne Price
- Mr Stephen Robinson
- Mr Andrew Shaw
- Mr Nigel Shaw
- Mr Nicholas Smith
- Mr Glen Turner
- Mr Gary Watkins

Case Number: 1404614/2020

Mr Simon Watts Mr Andrew Weaver Mr Neil Wilce Mr Clinton Williams

> Regional Employment Judge Pirani Date: 2 November 2021

Judgment sent to parties: 2 November 2021

FOR THE OFFICE OF THE TRIBUNALS