

Appointment of Legal Aid Agency Review Panel members

The Review Panel of independent lawyers considers appeals against the Legal Aid Agency's decisions on funding and costs.

New member appointments

The Secretary of State has approved the appointment of the following 36 members who will serve a term of five years from 1 August 2021 until 31 July 2026.

Bahar Ata

Judith Brennan

Daniel Bunting

Sarah Burns

Louise Echlin

Stephen Fidler

Michael Field

Terri Fisher

Charlotte Flanders

Darren Flick

Tony Freitas

Maria Georgian

Ieva Giedraityte

Carrie Gilgun

Laura Hannah

Charlene Heale

Martin Hodgson

Gabriella Isamah-Opene

Clare Jennings

Barnaby Large

Legal Aid Agency

Matthew Lee

Anna Metcalfe

Dilshad Miah (resigned 26 August 2021)

Tamara Muhammad

Rory O'Ryan

Matthew Purves

Deirdre Sheahan

Harriet Short

Stephen Simblet

Priya Solanki

Vinita Templeton

Antony Vaughan

Yvette Wadeley

Beverley Watkins

Zubier Yazdani

Saloud Zaman

The Secretary of State has approved the appointment of the following member who will serve a term of five years from 1 February 2022 until 31 January 2027:

Adrian Smith

Direct appointments

Ministers consulted the Commissioner for Public Appointments about these appointments which were required to ensure the panel had adequate cover across all categories of law.

The Secretary of State approved the appointment of the following members for a term of 12 months from 1 July 2021 until 30 June 2022:

Michael Imperato

Peter Todd