Case Number: 1602613/20 and others (see appendix 1) Multiples: 5173 & 5156



# EMPLOYMENT TRIBUNALS

Claimants:	Unite the Union and others (see appendix 1)	
Respondents:	<ul> <li>(1) Wrexham Wire Ltd – in Administration</li> <li>(2) Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy</li> </ul>	
Heard at:	Cardiff (by CVP)	<b>On:</b> 17 November 2021
Before:	Employment Judge C Sharp (sitting alone)	
Representation: Claimants: Respondents:	<ol> <li>Mr T Rushton (Counsel) (representing Unite and the claimants within the multiple 5173)</li> <li>Ms D Coyne (Solicitor) (representing the claimants within the multiple 5156 – the non-union members)</li> <li>Not in attendance</li> </ol>	

# JUDGMENT

The judgment of the Employment Judge sitting alone is that:

- 1. The complaint that the First Respondent failed to comply with a requirement of section 188 of the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 is well founded.
- 2. The tribunal makes a protective award in respect of all employees of the First Respondent who have brought a claim as part of these proceedings or were within the bargaining unit defined within the union recognition agreement as "all employees, with the exclusion of staff within the Operational, Technical and Maintenance departments, of the First Respondent" who were assigned to work at the First Respondent's premises at Ash Road North, Holt, Wrexham LL13 9JT ("the establishment") and who were dismissed as redundant on or after 6 August 2020.

- 3. The tribunal orders the First Respondent to pay those employees remuneration for the protected period of 90 days beginning on 6 August 2020.
- 4. This judgment does not prevent a claim being made to the Second Respondent for payment from the National Insurance fund in respect of the First Respondent's liability.

Employment Judge C Sharp Dated: 17 November 2021

JUDGMENT SENT TO THE PARTIES ON 22 November 2021

FOR THE SECRETARY OF EMPLOYMENT TRIBUNALS Mr N Roche

#### NOTE:

This is a written record of the Tribunal's decision. Reasons for this decision were given orally at the hearing. Written reasons are not provided unless (a) a party asks for them at the hearing itself or (b) a party makes a written request for them within 14 days of the date on which this written record is sent to the parties. This information is provided in compliance with Rule 62(3) of the Tribunal's Rules of Procedure 2013.

## APPENDIX 1: CLAIMANTS WITHIN THESE PROCEEDINGS

1602613/2020	Unite The Union
1602614/2020	Mr Stephen Barton
1602615/2020	Mr Pawel Buchowiecki
1602616/2020	Mr Darren Bungenaar
1602617/2020	Mr Simon Cartwright
1602618/2020	Mr David Clutton
1602619/2020	Mr Bradley Coldwell
1602620/2020	Mr Neil Courtman
1602621/2020	Mr Gordon Cowan
1602622/2020	Mr Anderson Daio
1602623/2020	Mr Alan Dixon
1602624/2020	Mr Robert Edwards
1602625/2020	Mr Martin Ellis
1602626/2020	Mr Bryan Evans
1602627/2020	Mr David Evans
1602628/2020	Mr Lewis Evans
1602629/2020	Mr Fraser Gough
1602630/2020	Mr Philip Gough
1602631/2020	Mr Mike Griffiths
1602632/2020	Mr James Hack
1602633/2020	Mr Terence Hack
1602634/2020	Mr David Harrison
1602635/2020	Mr Kelvin Heath
1602636/2020	Mr Matthew Holman
1602637/2020	Mr David Jones
1602638/2020	Mr Dean Jones
1602639/2020	Mr Nathan Jones
1602640/2020	Mr Mark Kenyon
1602641/2020	Mr Jason Mathews
1602642/2020	Mr Nicholas O'Keeffe
1602643/2020	Mr Patrick O'Keeffe
1602644/2020	Mr Jonathan Owen
1602645/2020	Mr Gwilym Parry
1602646/2020	Mr Ryan Price
1602647/2020	Mr Ryan Richardson
1602648/2020	Mr Bruce Roberts
1602649/2020	Mr Gareth Roberts

1602650/2020	Mr John Roberts
1602651/2020	Mr Peter Roberts
1602652/2020	Mr Timothy Roberts
1602653/2020	Mr Andrew Rogers
1602654/2020	Mr lan Royce
1602655/2020	Mr Derek Smith
1602656/2020	Mr James Smith
1602657/2020	Mr Joshua Smith
1602658/2020	Mr Nathan Smith
1602659/2020	Mr Eric Tang
1602660/2020	Mr Darrel Thorold
1602661/2020	Mr Richard Timmins
1602662/2020	Mr Joseph Tuah
1602663/2020	Mr Dennis Williams
1602664/2020	Mr Ryan Williams
1602665/2020	Mr Stephen Williams
1602666/2020	Mr Vaughan Williams
1602667/2020	Mr A P Jones (deceased)
1602668/2020	Mr J Morris
1602669/2020	Mr A Gabriel
1602309/2020	Ms Diana Hannay
1602310/2020	Ms Fiona Roberts
1602311/2020	Mr Gareth Lupton
1602312/2020	Ms Stephanie Davies
1602313/2020	Ms Elvira van der Meer
1602314/2020	Mr Eric Olsen
1602315/2020	Mr Paul Boyes
1602316/2020	Mr Stephen Hale
1602317/2020	Mr Michael Lewis
1602318/2020	Mr Joshua Darlington
1602319/2020	Mr Philip Ellis
1602320/2020	Mr Stephen Jarvis
1602321/2020	Mr Hywel Gwyn Lewis
1602322/2020	Ms Wojciech Czechowski
1602323/2020	Mr Wilhelm Gerasmo
1602324/2020	Mr Lyuben Nikolov
1602325/2020	Mr Callum Jones
1602226/2020	Ms Marie Roberts
1602326/2020	
1602326/2020 1602327/2020	Mr Richard Jones
	Mr Richard Jones Ms Amy Fairhurst

### Case Number: 1602613/20 and others (see appendix 1) Multiples: 5173 & 5156

1602330/2020	Mr Steven Williams
1602331/2020	Mr Jonathan Chappell