

Decision of the Withdrawal Agreement Joint Committee on establishing a list of 25 persons who are willing and able to serve as members of an arbitration panel under the Agreement

Annex A - UK Reserve List of Arbitration Panel Members for the Withdrawal Agreement

17 December 2020

## Overview

The Withdrawal Agreement Joint Committee has established a list of 25 individuals willing and able to serve as members of an arbitration panel before the end of the transition period, pursuant to Article 171(1) of the Withdrawal Agreement at Decision No 2/2020 Annex I.

This list comprises five individuals agreed by the UK and EU to act as a chairperson, and ten individuals nominated by each Party, who may be called as panel members in the event of a dispute. A full panel will be composed of one chairperson and four arbitrators, selected from these preagreed lists.

The UK has also comprised a list of reserve candidates at Annex A.

## Annex A

UK list of reserve candidates able and willing to sit as members of an arbitration panel

## Reserve list

- 1. Daniel Beard QC
- 2. Professor George Bermann
- 3. Lord Lawrence Collins
- 4. Lord Leonard Hoffmann
- 5. Jean Kalicki
- 6. William Kovacic
- 7. Hugh Mercer QC
- 8. Sir Bernard Rix
- 9. Guglielmo Verdirame QC