

# Decision of the Withdrawal Agreement Joint Committee on establishing a list of 25 persons who are willing and able to serve as members of an arbitration panel under the Agreement

17 December 2020

#### DECISION No 7/2020

# OF THE JOINT COMMITTEE ESTABLISHED BY THE AGREEMENT ON THE WITHDRAWAL OF THE UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND FROM THE EUROPEAN UNION AND THE EUROPEAN ATOMIC ENERGY COMMUNITY

#### of 17 December 2020

# establishing a list of 25 persons who are willing and able to serve as members of an arbitration panel under the Agreement

#### THE JOINT COMMITTEE,

Having regard to the Agreement on the withdrawal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community<sup>1</sup> (the 'Withdrawal Agreement'), and in particular Article 171(1) thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Pursuant to Article 171(1) of the Withdrawal Agreement, the Joint Committee is to establish, no later than by the end of the transition period set under the Withdrawal Agreement, a list of 25 persons who are willing and able to serve as members of an arbitration panel. The Joint Committee is to ensure that the list complies with the requirements at any moment in time.,
- (2) Pursuant to Article 171(2) of the Withdrawal Agreement, the list is to only comprise persons whose independence is beyond doubt, who possess the qualifications required for appointment to the highest judicial office in their respective countries or who are jurisconsults of recognised competence, and who possess specialised knowledge or experience of Union law and public international law. The list is not to comprise persons who are members, officials or other servants of the Union institutions, of the government of a Member State, or of the government of the United Kingdom,
- (3) The Union and the United Kingdom have jointly proposed five persons for the position of chairperson of the arbitration panel, and have each proposed ten persons for the position of member of the arbitration panel,
- (4) It is appropriate to establish the position to be taken on the Union's behalf in the Joint Committee.
- (5) It is also appropriate to establish a reserve pool of experts who are willing and able to serve as arbitrators under the Withdrawal Agreement and who can be contacted in order to keep the list of 25 persons up to date from the Union side,

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> <u>OJ L 29, 31.1.2020, p.7.</u>

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

## Article 1

The list of 25 persons willing and able to serve as arbitrators under the Withdrawal Agreement is set out in Annex I.

#### Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on 1 January 2021.

Done at Brussels, 17 December 2020

For the Joint Committee

The Co-chairs

Michael Gove

Maroš Šefčovič

### ANNEX I to Decision No 7/2020 of the Joint Committee

## Chairpersons for the Withdrawal Agreement Arbitration Panel

Ms Corinna Wissels Ms Angelika Helene Anna Nussberger Mr Jan Klucka Sir Daniel Bethlehem Ms Gabrielle Kaufmann-Kohler Ordinary members for the Withdrawal Agreement Arbitration Panel EU: Mr Hubert Legal Ms Helena Jäderblom Ms Ursula Kriebaum Mr Jan Wouters Mr Christoph Walter Hermann Mr Javier Diez-Hochleitner Ms Alice Guimaraes-Purokoski Mr Barry Doherty Ms Tamara Capeta Mr Nico Schrijver UK: Sir Gerald Barling Sir Christopher Bellamy Mr Zachary Douglas Sir Patrick Elias Dame Elizabeth Gloster Sir Peter Gross Mr Toby Landau QC Mr Dan Sarooshi QC

Ms Jemima Stratford QC

Sir Michael Wood