JOINT MINISTERIAL COMMITTEE (EU NEGOTIATIONS) COMMUNIQUE

29 December 2020

The twenty-eighth Joint Ministerial Committee (EU Negotiations) met on 29 December 2020 via video conference. The meeting was chaired by the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster.

The attending Ministers were:

From the UK Government: The Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, Rt Hon Michael Gove MP; The Secretary of State for Scotland, Rt Hon Alister Jack MP; The Secretary of State for Wales, Rt Hon Simon Hart MP; The Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, Rt Hon Brandon Lewis MP and the Paymaster General, Rt Hon Penny Mordaunt MP.

From the Scottish Government: The Cabinet Secretary for the Constitution, Europe and External Affairs, Michael Russell MSP and The Minister for Europe and International Development, Jenny Gilruth MSP.

From the Welsh Government: The Counsel General and Minister for European Transition, Jeremy Miles MS.

From the Northern Ireland Executive: First Minister, Rt Hon Arlene Foster MLA, and deputy First Minister, Michelle O'Neill MLA.

The Committee discussed the UK-EU Trade and Cooperation Agreement and readiness, including the implementation of the agreement, the Northern Ireland Protocol and legislation.