## JOINT MINISTERIAL COMMITTEE (EU NEGOTIATIONS) COMMUNIQUE

## 3 December 2020

The twenty-seventh Joint Ministerial Committee (EU Negotiations) met on 3 December 2020 via video conference. The meeting was chaired by the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster.

The attending Ministers were:

From the UK Government: The Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, Rt Hon Michael Gove MP; The Secretary of State for Scotland, Rt Hon Alister Jack MP; The Secretary of State for Wales, Rt Hon Simon Hart MP; The Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, Rt Hon Brandon Lewis MP; The Paymaster General, Rt Hon Penny Mordaunt MP and The Minister of State for Constitution and Devolution, Chloe Smith MP.

From the Scottish Government: The Cabinet Secretary for the Constitution, Europe and External Affairs, Michael Russell MSP and The Minister for Europe and International Development, Jenny Gilruth MSP.

From the Welsh Government: The Counsel General and Minister for European Transition, Jeremy Miles MS.

From the Northern Ireland Executive: First Minister, Rt Hon Arlene Foster MLA, deputy First Minister, Michelle O'Neill MLA, Junior Minister Gordon Lyons MLA and Junior Minister Declan Kearney MLA.

The Committee discussed the latest developments in the UK-EU negotiations, arrangements for the end of the Transition Period, the implementation of the Northern Ireland Protocol and legislation. The Committee also discussed progress on Common Frameworks, the UK Internal Market Bill, plans for future engagement and the review of intergovernmental relations.