Case Number: 2500656/2020 & Others



## THE EMPLOYMENT TRIBUNALS

Claimant: Miss C Lamb & Others

First Respondent: Laidlaw Limited (in Administration)

Second Respondent: Secretary of State for Business, Energy &

**Industrial Strategy** 

Heard at: Newcastle Hearing Centre On: Tuesday 29th September 2020

Before: Employment Judge Johnson

## RULE 21 JUDGMENT ON APPLICATION FOR PROTECTIVE AWARD

- 1. In respect of each of the claims by those claimants set out in the schedule hereto, the complaint that the first respondent failed to comply with the requirement of Section 188 or Section 188A of the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992 is well founded.
- 2. The first respondent is ordered to pay remuneration calculated in accordance with Section 190 of the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act to those employees whose names are set out in the schedule hereto who were dismissed on or after 17<sup>th</sup> January 2020 before the protected period.
- 3. The protected period is from 17<sup>th</sup> January 2020 to 17<sup>th</sup> May 2020.
- 4. The Employment Protection (Recruitment of Jobseekers Allowance and Income Support) Regulations 1996 applies. Regulation 6 imposes on the First Respondent a duty to provide information to the Secretary of State. Regulation 7 postpones this award in order to enable the Secretary of State to serve a recruitment notice under Regulation 8. The full effect Regulation 6, 7 and 8 is set out in the annexe to this judgment.

**EMPLOYMENT JUDGE JOHNSON** 

Case Number: 2500656/2020 & Others

## JUDGMENT SIGNED BY EMPLOYMENT JUDGE ON 2 October 2020

## Public access to employment tribunal decisions

Judgments and reasons for the judgments are published, in full, online at www.gov.uk/employment-tribunal-decisions shortly after a copy has been sent to the claimant(s) and respondent(s) in a case.

2500656/2020 & 2500657/2020 Miss Cheryl Lamb

2500658/2020 Mrs Sharon Rowe

2500659/2020 Mr Lewis Fraser

2500660/2020 Mr Paul Green

2500661/2020 Miss Victoria Radmall

2500662/2020 Mr Simon Marr

2500663/2020 Mrs Cheryl Chambers

2500664/2020 Mr Damian Scantlebury

2500665/2020 Miss Nicola Wilson

2500666/2020 Mr Daniel Fulton-Chambers

2500667/2020 Mrs Amanda Stretton

2500668/2020 Mr Harvey Lycett

2500669/2020 Mr Bradley Fleming

2500670/2020 Mr Darren Eyre

2500671/2020 Mr Curtis Breeze

2500672/2020 Mr Robert Whitcroft

2500673/2020 Mrs Cheryl Mortimer

2500674/2020 Mr John Darby

2500675/2020 Mr Lee Charlton

2500676/2020 Ms Janet Owen

2500677/2020 Mr Stephen May

2500678/2020 Mrs Saide Faulkener

2500679/2020 Ms Joanne Fellows

2500680/2020 Miss Charlotte Dutton

2500681/2020 Mr Joshua Hindes

2500682/2020 Mrs Christine Pringle

2500683/2020 Mr Joshua Quant

2500684/2020 Mr Dean Cox

2500685/2020 Mr Tim Ward

2500686/2020 Mr Steve Peckmore

2500687/2020 Mr Adrian Smethurst

2500688/2020 Mrs Amanda Fox

2500689/2020 Miss Claire Horney

2500690/2020 Mr David May

2500691/2020 Mr Dean Danks

2500692/2020 Miss Toni Phillips

2500693/2020 Mr Mike Brittain