<u>ofqual</u>

Minutes Emergency Board Meeting

Time and venue

18.00pm by Microsoft Teams

Date

Sunday, 23 August 2020

Attendees

<u>Board</u>	
Susan Barratt	
lan Bauckham	
Delroy Beverley	
Mike Cresswell	
Lesley Davies	
Hywel Jones	
Catherine McClellan	
Dame Christine Ryan	
Roger Taylor	Chair
Matt Tee	(until 18.39pm)
Mike Thompson	
Frances Wadsworth	

Ofqual

Phil Beach	Executive Director, Vocational and Technical Qualifications (until
	19.33pm)
Niamh Field	Board Secretary
Daniel Gutteridge	Director of Legal (until 19.33pm)
Michael Hanton	Director of Strategy and Markets (until 19.33pm)
Matthew Humphrey	Director of Legal Moderation and Enforcement (until 19.33pm)
Michelle Meadows	Executive Director, Strategy, Risk and Research (until 19.33pm)
Sean Pearce	Chief Operating Officer (until 19.33pm)
Julie Swan	Executive Director for General Qualifications (until 19.33pm)
Anona White	Private Secretary to the Chief Regulator (until 19.33pm)
_	
<u>Other attendees</u>	
Chris Jones	Director of Corporate Strategy, Ofsted (until 18.32pm)

Chris Jones	Director of Corporate Strategy, Ofsted (until 18.32pm)
Amanda Spielman	HM Chief Inspector, Ofsted (until 18.32pm)
Dame Glenys Stacey	(until 18.32pm)

113/20 Welcome and apologies for absence

Apologies were received and accepted from Sally Collier.

114/20 Declarations of interest

Dame Christine Ryan declared that she was a member of both the Ofqual and Ofsted Boards.

115/20 Contingency arrangements in the event that Ofqual is without the Chief Regulator at short notice

This section has been redacted, as its publication would be prejudicial to the effective conduct of public affairs.

The Board noted that should the Chief Regulator resign, then the Board would need to act swiftly to prevent the loss of senior skilled staff, to strengthen the organisation's capabilities and to rebuild Ofqual's reputation.

This section has been redacted, as its publication would be prejudicial to the effective conduct of public affairs.

This section has been redacted on the basis it contains legally privileged information.

RESOLVED:

The Board resolved to agree:

- i. to accept the proposal outlined in Annex 1 in the event that the contingency arose
- ii. to appoint Lesley Davies and Ian Bauckham as the Board's representatives to the Committee; and
- iii. that the Board delegate to Lesley Davies, Ian Bauckham and Roger Taylor collectively, the responsibility for the agreement of the final detail of the ToR of the Committee if such a contingency was required, taking into account Board member views.

116/20 Any Other Business

This section has been redacted on the basis it contains legally privileged information.

There was no other business.

The meeting ended at 20.10pm.