The Rail Vehicle Accessibility (Non-Interoperable Rail System) (Tyne and Wear Metro Metrocar) Exemption Order 2019

The Secretary of State makes the following Order, in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 183(1), (2) (4)(b) and 207(1) and (4) of the Equality Act 2010(a).

In accordance with section 183(4) of the Equality Act 2010 the Secretary of State has consulted with the Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee(b) and such other persons as the Secretary of State considers appropriate.

Citation and Commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Rail Vehicle Accessibility (Non-Interoperable Rail System) (Tyne and Wear Metro Metrocar) Exemption Order 2019 and comes into force on 31 January 2019.

Interpretation

2.—(1) In this Order—

"the 2010 Regulations" means the Rail Vehicle Accessibility (Non-Interoperable Rail System) Regulations 2010(c);

"exempt vehicle" means a rail vehicle of the type known as Class 599 Metrocar and with a number in the series 4003 to 4090, but excluding numbers 4040 and 4083;

"platform gap" means the gap between the edge of the door sill of a wheelchair-compatible doorway of an exempt vehicle and the platform;

"Tyne and Wear Metro" means the Tyne and Wear Metro network, including the line from Pelaw Station to South Hylton Station, which is managed by Network Rail Infrastructure Limited;

"wheelchair-compatible doorway" has the same meaning as in the 2010 Regulations.

(2) Unless otherwise stated, in this Order a reference to a numbered paragraph is a reference to that paragraph of Part 1 of Schedule 1 to the 2010 Regulations.

Exemptions relating to facilities for disabled persons

- 3. Subject to article 4, an exempt vehicle is authorised to be used for carriage on the Tyne and Wear Metro even if it does not conform to, or it is used in a manner that does not conform to, one or more of the following requirements:
 - (a) paragraph 1(1) (boarding devices at wheelchair-compatible doorways):
 - (i) in relation to a rail vehicle that is stationary at a platform at a station named in Table 1 of the Schedule, the platform gap is not more than 121mm when measured horizontally, and not more than 50mm when measured vertically;

⁽a) 2010 c. 15.

⁽b) The Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee was established under section 125 of the Transport Act 1985 (c. 67) and has a statutory duty to provide the Government with advice on the public passenger transport needs of disabled people.

⁽c) S.I. 2010/432, to which there are no amendments relevant to this Order.

- (ii) in relation to a rail vehicle that is stationary at a platform at a station named in Table 2 of the Schedule, the platform gap is not more than 110mm when measured horizontally, and not more than 63mm when measured vertically;
- (iii) in relation to a rail vehicle that is stationary at a platform at Stadium of Light station, the platform gap is not more than 240mm when measured horizontally, and not more than 88mm when measured vertically;
- (iv) in relation to a rail vehicle that is stationary at a platform at Tynemouth station, the platform gap is not more than 205mm when measured horizontally, and not more than 88mm when measured vertically;
- (b) paragraph 10(1) (a) (positions of handrails close to passenger doorways on the inside of rail vehicles), provided that the handrails extend vertically from a point not more than 910mm above the floor to a point not less than 1520mm above floor level.

Expiry

4. The exemptions in article 3 expire at 2am on 1 July 2026.

Signed by authority of the Secretary of State for Transport

Nusrat Ghani
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State
Department of Transport

Date 14. 01. 2007.

SCHEDULE

Article 3(a)

Table 1

Brockley Whins
East Boldon
Fellgate
Millfield
Pallion
Park Lane
Seaburn
Sunderland
South Hylton
St Peter's
Universit

Table 2

Stations

Airport

Bank Foot

Byker

Callerton Parkway

Central Station

Chichester

Chillingham Road

Fawdon

Four Lane Ends

Gateshead

Gateshead Stadium

Hadrian Road

Haymarket

Heworth

Ilford Road

Jesmond

Kingston Park

Manors

Meadow Well

Monument

Northumberland Park

Palmersville

Pelaw

Regent Centre

Simonside

St James

Shiremoor

South Shields

Tyne Dock

Wansbeck Road

Benton

Cullercoats

Felling

Hebburn

Howdon

Jarrow

Longbenton

Monkseaton

North Shields

Percy Main

South Gosforth

Walkergate

Wallsend

West Jesmond

West Monkseaton

Whitle Bay