## JOINT MINISTERIAL COMMITTEE (EU NEGOTIATIONS) COMMUNIQUE

## 16 JULY 2020

The twenty-fourth Joint Ministerial Committee (EU Negotiations) met today via video conference. The meeting was chaired by the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster.

The attending Ministers were:

From the UK Government: The Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, Rt Hon Michael Gove MP; The Secretary of State for Scotland, Rt Hon Alister Jack MP; The Secretary of State for Wales, Rt Hon Simon Hart MP; The Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, Rt Hon Brandon Lewis MP; The Paymaster General, Rt Hon Penny Mordaunt MP; The Minister for the Constitution and Devolution, Chloe Smith MP and Sherpa, Prime Minister's Europe Adviser and Chief Negotiator of Task Force Europe, David Frost.

From the Scottish Government: The Cabinet Secretary for the Constitution, Europe and External Affairs, Michael Russell MSP and The Minister for Europe and International Development, Jenny Gilruth MSP.

From the Welsh Government: The Counsel General and Minister for European Transition, Jeremy Miles MS.

From the Northern Ireland Executive: First Minister, Rt Hon Arlene Foster MLA, deputy First Minister, Michelle O'Neill MLA, Junior Minister Gordon Lyons MLA and Junior Minister Declan Kearney MLA.

The Committee discussed negotiations with the EU, the Intergovernmental Relations Review, the Northern Ireland Protocol, preparedness for the end of the transition period, the launch of a communications campaign for readiness, legislation, and the UK Internal Market.