

Ambassador Sir Tim Barrow KCMG Office of the Permanent Representative

Avenue d'Auderghem 10 1040 Brussels Belgium

23 August 2019

Bjoern Seibert Head of Transition Team European Commission President-elect

Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Secretary-General Council of the European Union

Dear Mr Seibert, Dear Secretary-General,

I refer to the request for Member States to submit letters of nomination for the College of Commissioners 2019-2024 by 26 August.

As the United Kingdom will be leaving the European Union on 31 October 2019, the Prime Minister announced in the House of Commons on 25 July that we would not nominate a UK Commissioner for the new Commission, and that this was not intended to stop the EU appointing a new Commission.

I am writing formally to confirm that, in accordance with the Prime Minister's statement, the United Kingdom will not be nominating a candidate for the 2019-2024 College of Commissioners.

Furthermore, I am instructed to confirm that the United Kingdom will not object to the Council, in accordance with Article 17(7) of the Treaty on European Union and in agreement with the President-elect, adopting the list of the candidates for appointment as members of the Commission and communicating that list to the European Parliament. The United Kingdom remains ready to work constructively with you to ensure that the new College of Commissioners will be appointed in time to take up its mandate on 1 November.

I am copying this letter to Ilze Juhansone, Acting Secretary-General of the European Commission, and Marja Rislakki, Permanent Representative of Finland to the EU, for information.

**TIM BARROW**