

The Rt Hon Lord Adonis Chair National Infrastructure Commission 1 Horse Guards Road London SW1A 2HQ

8th February 2017

Dear Lord Adonis.

COMMITTEE ON FUEL POVERTY

I am writing on behalf of the Committee on Fuel Poverty (CFP) to encourage you to include Energy Efficiency in your review of National Infrastructure demands. The CFP advise and challenge Government on its delivery of their fuel poverty strategy for England. The strategy involves upgrading the energy efficiency levels of the 2.4 million households in fuel poverty, so as to sustainably reduce their energy bills. Between 2015 and 2030, this will require circa £20 billion of household energy efficiency investment, money which the householders obviously do not have. We believe that improving Energy Efficiency has a number of significant benefits that warrant its inclusion as a National Infrastructure priority. It:

- Sustainably reduces energy demand thereby reducing the need for more expensive peaking plants and new generating capacity.
- Helps to reduce carbon emissions at a cost effective price compared to other options and should therefore form a core part of the decarbonisation strategy of heating.
- Creates jobs and employment today across the UK and supports many SME businesses.
- Significantly reduce fuel poverty if targeted to those households that are most inefficient.
- Can be partially funded by attracting third party capital that can be repaid from some of the energy savings generated.

We regard energy efficiency as a no regret decision that can save money and reduce carbon today while other technological choices can be developed over time. We hope that the NIC will support an increased emphasis on energy efficiency in your plans but as a minimum we would request that you embed in your plans the Government's current commitments to raise as many households in fuel poverty as possible to Band C by 2030.

Finally, the CFP would welcome the chance to expand on these ideas with your Commission, if that were helpful.

Yours sincerely,

David R Blakemore

D. R. Bluhanse

Chair, Committee on Fuel Poverty

Members: Dr Alice Maynard CBE DBA C Dir, Jenny Saunders, OBE, Paul Massara,

Lawrence Slade