This document was archived on 27 July 2017

Certificates of Naturalisation ("Imperial" and "Local")

1. Imperial certificates

1.1 "Imperial" certificates of naturalisation were certificates that were issued under the British Nationality and Status of Aliens Act 1914 (i.e. after 1 January 1915 and before 1 January 1949) in any part of the Crown's dominions. Although it was stipulated that the naturalisation provisions in the 1914 Act would not apply to the self-governing Dominions of Australia, Canada, Newfoundland, New Zealand and South Africa, unless adopted by their respective Legislatures, the provisions were adopted by these countries at various dates between 1914 and 1929. They are acceptable as evidence of British subject status.

