UK Depositary Status list

North-East Atlantic Fisheries Convention

(signed at London, 24 January 1959)

This Convention entered into force on 27 June 1963. This Convention is published in the UK Treaty Series No. 068 (1963).

<u>This Convention is no longer in force. Replaced by Convention on Future Multilateral Cooperation in North-East Atlantic Fisheries (signed London, 18 November, 1980)</u>

States which have signed, ratified or acceded at London

| State | Date of deposit of instrument of ratification | Notes |
|-------------------------------------|---|-------|
| Belgium | 15 September 1961 | |
| Denmark | 14 July 1960 | |
| Federal Republic of Germany | 27 June 1963 | |
| France | 20 March 1962 | |
| Iceland | 12 April 1960 | |
| Ireland | 2 October 1962 | |
| Netherlands | 21 April 1960 | |
| Norway | 12 January 1960 | |
| Poland | 22 February 1961 | |
| Portugal | 13 December 1962 | |
| Spain | 7 November 1960 | |
| Sweden | 31 March 1960 | |
| Union of Soviet Socialist Republics | 25 August 1960 | |
| United Kingdom | 27 August 1959 | |

Accessions

| State | Date of deposit of instrument | Notes |
|----------------------------|-------------------------------|-------|
| Bulgaria | 1 September 1976 | |
| Cuba | 9 December 1976 | 1 |
| Finland | 22 June 1976 | |
| German Democratic Republic | 26 June 1974 | |

Denunciations

| State | Date of deposit of instrument of denunciation | Effective date | Notes |
|-----------------------------|---|------------------|-------|
| Belgium | 30 December 1976 | 30 December 1977 | _ |
| Denmark | 29 December 1976 | 29 December 1977 | |
| Denmark (for Faroe Islands) | 1 November 1982 | 1 November 1983 | |
| Finland | 6 January 1981 | 6 January 1982 | |
| France | 31 December 1976 | 31 December 1977 | |

UK Depositary Status list

North-East Atlantic Fisheries Convention

(signed at London, 24 January 1959)

| State | Date of deposit of instrument of denunciation | Effective date | Notes |
|--|---|-------------------|-------|
| German Democratic Republic | 28 September 1981 | 28 December 1982 | |
| Federal Republic of Germany | 7 February 1977 | 7 February 1978 | |
| Iceland | 11 March 1981 | 11 March 1982 | |
| Ireland | 24 February 1977 | 24 February 1978 | |
| Netherlands | 29 December 1976 | 29 December 1977 | |
| Norway | 17 August 1976 | 1 July 1978 | 2 |
| Spain | 18 December 1980 | | 3 |
| | 24 February 1984 | 24 February 1985 | |
| Sweden | 13 September 1978 | 13 September 1979 | |
| Union of Soviet Socialist Republics | 23 April 1981 | 23 April 1982 | |
| United Kingdom | 31 December 1976 | 31 December 1977 | |
| Portugal | 30 November 1982 | 30 November 1983 | |
| Poland | 29 April 1983 | 29 April 1984 | |
| Bulgaria | 24 July 1984 | 24 July 1985 | |

Notes

- 1 The Government of the Republic of Cuba included in its instrument of accession the following declaration:
 - (translation) "The Republic of Cuba declares that the provisions contained in subparagraphs i) and ii) paragraph 3 of Article 1 of the North-East Atlantic Fisheries Convention referring to colonial territories are no longer applicable being contrary to the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to colonial Countries and Peoples (Resolution 1514) made by the General Assembly of the United Nations Organisation on 14 December 1960 proclaiming the necessity of bringing colonialism in all its forms and manifestations to a speedy and unconditional end."
- 2 In a Note dated 4 July 1977, Norway declared that their withdrawal would take effect on 1 January 1978. In a further Note dated 19 December 1977, Norway declared that their withdrawal would be deferred until 1 July 1978.
- 3 In a Note dated 16 December, 1981 Spain stated that the effective date of their withdrawal would be postponed until constitutional procedures to give effect to the denunciation had been completed.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office London

Last updated: