## This document was archived on 27 July 2017

#### **BRITISH OVERSEAS TERRITORIES**

#### 1. <u>Introduction</u>

- 1.1 The status of "British Dependent Territory" was created by the BNA 1981 and, by virtue of a connection with such a place, a person may be or become a BDTC under **Part II** of the 1981 Act.
- 1.2 The dependent territories and British Dependent Territories citizenship were re-named "British overseas territories" and "British overseas territories citizenship" with effect from 26 February 2002 (s.1 and s.2, British Overseas Territories Act 2002). (NB. In anticipation of the 2002 Act, it had been the practice, since 17 March 1999, to refer to the dependent territories as British overseas territories in official correspondence.

### 2. The Channel Islands and the Isle of Man

2.1 Before 1983, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man were colonies under **s.33(1)** of the **BNA 1948**. On 1 January 1983, they became part of the United Kingdom for nationality purposes, rather than dependent territories (BNA 1981, **s.50(1)**).

### 3. The British dependent territories on 1 January 1983

3.1 The British dependent territories, as originally included in **Schedule 6** to the 1981 Act, were:

Anguilla

Bermuda

**British Antarctic Territory** 

British Indian Ocean Territory

Cayman Islands

Falkland Islands & Dependencies (see Note 1 below)

Gibraltar

Hong Kong (see Note 2 below)

Montserrat

Pitcairn. Henderson. Ducie & Oeno Islands

St Christopher & Nevis (see Note 3 below)

St Helena & Dependencies (see Note 4 below)

The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri & Dhekelia (as

mentioned in s.2(1) of the Cyprus Act 1960)

Turks & Caicos Islands

Virgin Islands

Note 1. South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands (formerly known as the Falkland Islands Dependencies) ceased to be Dependencies of the

# This document was archived on 27 July 2017

Falklands Islands on 3 October 1985, when new and separate constitutions for the Falkland Islands and for South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands came into force. They were added to **Schedule 6** in their own right, with effect from 4 December 2001, by the **British Nationality Act 1981** (Amendment to Schedule 6) Order 2001. In the interim, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands were not (and did not comprise) a British dependent territory

- Note 2. Hong Kong ceased to be a British dependent territory on 1 July 1997, and was removed from the list in **Schedule 6** by the **Hong Kong (British Nationality) Order 1986**
- Note 3. St Christopher and Nevis ceased to be a British dependent territory on 19 September 1983, and was removed from the list in **Schedule 6** by the **St Christopher & Nevis Modification of Enactments Order 1983**.
- Note 4. St Helena and Dependencies was renamed "St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha" on 1 September 2009, when a new constitution came into force giving the three islands equal status within the territory. On 14 November 2009 the name "St Helena and Dependencies" was replaced by "St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha" in Schedule 6 of the BNA 1981, by virtue of the British Nationality Act 1981 (Amendment of Schedule 6) Order 2009.