# This document was archived on 27 July 2017

#### **Commonwealth Countries**

Country	Former name	Former status	Date of inclusion in section 1(3) BNA 1948/Schedule 3 BNA 1981
Antigua and Barbuda	Antigua	Colony/Associated state	01.11.81
Australia		Dominion	01.01.49
Bahamas		Colony	10.07.73
Bangladesh	East Pakistan	Dominion	04.02.72
Barbados		Colony	30.11.66
Belize	British Honduras	Colony	21.09.81
Botswana	Bechuanaland	Protectorate	30.09.66
Brunei		Protected State/foreign country	01.01.84
Cameroon		Foreign country	25.01.99
Canada		Dominion	01.01.49
Cyprus (see NOTES below)		Colony	16.08.60
Dominica		Colony/Associated state	03.11.78
Fiji (see NOTES below)		Colony	10.10.70
Ghana	Gold Coast & Togoland	Pt. Colony/Protectorate	06.03.57
Grenada		Colony/Associated state	07.02.74
Guyana	British Guiana	Colony	26.05.66
India		Dominion	01.01.49
Jamaica		Colony	06.08.62
Kenya		Pt. Colony/Protectorate	12.12.63
Kiribati	Gilbert Islands	Colony	12.07.79
Lesotho	Basutoland	Colony	04.10.66
Malawi	Nyasaland	Protectorate	06.07.64
Malaysia	Malaya	9 Protected States and 2 Colonies of Penang and Malacca	31.08.57
	Singapore	Colony	16.09.63
	Sabah (N.Borneo)	Colony	16.09.63
	Sarawak	Colony	16.09.63
Malta		Colony	21.09.64
Mauritius		Colony	12.03.68
Mozambique		Foreign country	25.01.99
Namibia	South West Africa	Foreign Territory	25.08.90
Nauru		Mandated Territory	31.01.80
New Hebrides (see Vanuatu)		Trust Territory	

## This document was archived on 27 July 2017

New Zealand		Dominion	01.01.49
Nigeria		Pt. Colony/Protectorate	01.10.60
Pakistan (see		Foreign country	01.10.89
NOTES below)			
Papua New Guinea		Foreign country	31.01.80
Rwanda		Foreign country	10.03.10
St Christopher &		Colony/Associated	19.09.83
Nevis		State	
St Lucia		Colony/Associated	22.02.79
		State	
St Vincent and the		Colony/Associated	27.10.79
Grenadines		State	
Seychelles		Colony	29.06.76
Sierra Leone		Pt. Colony/Protectorate	27.04.61
Singapore (see		Colony	16.09.63
NOTES below)			
Solomon Islands		Protectorate	07.07.78
South Africa (see		Foreign country	26.07.94
NOTES below)			
Southern Rhodesia			
(see Zimbabwe)			
Śri Lanka	Ceylon	Dominion	01.01.49
Swaziland		Protected State	06.09.68
Tanzania	Tanganyika &	Trust Territory/Protected	(Tan) 09.12.61
	Zanzibar	State	
	(Union day		
	26.4.64)		
			(Zan) 10.12.63
Tonga		Protected State	04.06.70
Trinidad & Tobago		Colony	31.8.62
Tuvalu		Colony	01.10.78
Uganda		Protectorate	9.10.62
Vanuatu		Anglo-French	30.7.80
	•	Condominium	
Western Samoa		Mandated	31.1.80
		Territory/Trust Territory	
Zambia	Northern	Protectorate	24.10.64
	Rhodesia		
Zimbabwe	Southern	Section 1(3) country as	(S. Rhodesia) 01.01.49
	Rhodesia	Southern Rhodesia	
			(Zimbabwe) 18.4.80

#### Notes

• The Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia remains a colony after Cyprus attained independence on 16.8.60, and are now classed as a British Dependant Territory included in Schedule 6 to the BNA 1981.

• Fiji withdrew from the Commonwealth, declaring its self a republic, on 15.10.87. It was re-admitted to the Commonwealth on 01.10.97. Throughout this period, however, Fiji continued to be listed in Schedule 3 to the BNA 1981 and so remained a Commonwealth country for British nationality purposes.

### This document was archived on 27 July 2017

- East Pakistan (now Bangladesh) was included in s.1 (3) BNA 1948 on 01.01.49.
- Pakistan (formerly West Pakistan) became a member of the Commonwealth on 01.01.49, ceased to be a member on 31.08.73 and was re-admitted to the Commonwealth on 01.10.89.
- South Africa was included in s.1 (3) BNA 1948 on 01.01.49. It ceased to be a member of the Commonwealth on 30.05.62. It rejoined on 01.06.94 and was included in Schedule 3 to the BNA 1981 on 26.07.94.
- Singapore attained fill independence on 16.9.63 when it joined the Federation of Malaya to form Malaysia and was included in s.1(3) BNA 1948 on that date. Singapore seceded from Malaysia on 09.08.65 and was then included in s.1(3) as a separate country.
- The Gambia became a Commonwealth country on 18 February 1965 and left on 12 November 2015.
- The Maldives became a Commonwealth country on 11 March 1985 and left on 12 May 2017.