

Legend

ACDP Advisory Committee for Dangerous Pathogens
ACMSF Advisory Committee on the Microbiological Safety of Food

ADPG Animal Disease Policy Group

AFBI Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute (Northern Ireland)
AHVLA Animal Health and Veterinary Laboratories Agency (Defra)

ARHAI (Advisory Committee on) Antimicrobial Resistance and Healthcare Associated Infection

CDSCNI Communicable Disease Surveillance Centre Northern Ireland
CEFAS Centre for Environment, Fisheries & Aquaculture Science

CMO Chief Medical Officer CVO Chief Veterinary Officer

DARC Defra Antimicrobial Resistance Coordination Committee

DARDNI Department of Agriculture and Rural Development Northern Ireland

Defra Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
DG SANCO Directorate General for Health and Consumer Affairs

DH Department of Health EC European Commission

ECDC European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control

EFIG Epidemiology of Foodborne Infections Group

EFSA European Food Safety Authority
EPIC Centre of Excellence in Epidemiology

EU European Union

FAO Food and Agriculture Organisation (UN)
FERA Food and Environment Research Agency

FSA Food Standards Agency
GPs General Practitioners

HAIRS Human Animals Infection Risk Surveillance Group

HPS Health Protection Scotland
HSE Health & Safety Executive

JCVI Joint Committee on Vaccination and Immunisation

LDCC Local Disease Control Centre (of AHVLA for control of a notifiable disease)

LGR Local Government Regulation (formally LACORS)

LRF Local Resilience Fora (local authority led)

NDCC National Disease Control Centre (of Defra for control of a notifiable disease)

OCT Outbreak Control Team (HPA-lead)
OIE World Animal Health Organisation
PHE Public Health England (formerly HPA)

PHW Public Health Wales SG Scottish Government

SRuC Scotland's Rural Colleges (formerly Scottish Agricultural College)
UKZADI United Kingdom Zoonoses, Animal Diseases and Infections Group

VMD Veterinary Medicines Directorate
VRC Veterinary Residues Committee

VRG Veterinary Risk Group

VSS Veterinary Surveillance Strategy- various government and non-government contributors:

see additional legend for details

WG Welsh Government
WHO World Health Organisation

Veterinary Surveillance Strategy contributors

AHVLA Animal Health and Veterinary Laboratories Agency (Defra)

AHVLA SG Animal Health and Veterinary Laboratories Agency Species Groups

AHT Animal Health Trust

ANIMO Animal Movements System

BCVA British Cattle Veterinary Association
BEVA British Equine Veterinary Association

BPEX Body representing pig levy payers in England
BSAVA British Small Animal Veterinary Association

BVPA British Veterinary Poultry Association

CICADA Computer-based Investigation of Companion Animal Disease Awareness

CVO Chief Veterinary Officer

Defra Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

NGOs Non-Governmental Organisations
PVS Private Veterinary Surgeons

RADAR Rapid Analysis and Detection of Animal Related Risks

SAVSNET Small Animal Veterinary Surveillance Network