ACMD Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs

> Chair: Professor Les Iversen NPS Committee Secretary: Linsey Urquhart 1st Floor (NE), Peel Building 2 Marsham Street London SW1P 4DF Tel: 020 7035 1121 ACMD@homeoffice.gsi.gov.uk

Sarah Newton MP Minister for Vulnerability, Safeguarding and Countering Extremism Home Office 2 Marsham Street London SW1P 4DF

22 December 2016

Dear Minister,

RE: Further advice on U-47,700, etizolam and other designer benzodiazepines

Thank you for your letter of 21 December responding to ACMD's Temporary Class Drug Order (TCDO) reports on U-47,700 and etizolam and other designer benzodiazepines.

I accept the decision you have taken, however, I am concerned with the time it will take to control these substances under the Misuse of Drugs Act 1971. In the intervening time before permanent control, I would encourage the Home Office to proactively disseminate and share information on these substances and their associated harms.

In terms of advice on classification and scheduling you have requested, the ACMD recommends that:

- U-47,700 be placed under Class A of the Misuse of Drugs Act 1971 and scheduled under Schedule 1 of the Misuse of Drugs Regulations 2001 (as amended). The associated harms are similar to AH-7921, another synthetic opioid controlled under Class A. The ACMD is not aware of any known legitimate uses in the UK for U-47,700.
- the following substances are classified under Class C of the Misuse of Drugs Act 1971 and scheduled under Schedule 1 of the Misuse of Drugs Regulations 2001 (as amended). The harms and potential harms are commensurate with benzodiazepines already controlled as Class C

compounds under the Misuse of Drugs Act 1971. The Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) has confirmed that these substances do not hold marketing authorisations in the UK.

- 4-(2-Chlorophenyl)-2-ethyl-9-methyl-6H-thieno[3,2-f][1,2,4]triazolo[4,3-a][1,4]diazepine (Etizolam).
- 7-Chloro-5-(2-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-1,3-dihydro-2H-1,4benzodiazepin-2-one (Diclazepam)
- 7-Bromo-5-(2-fluorophenyl)-1,3-dihydro-2H-1,4-benzodiazepin-2-one (Flubromazepam)
- 8-Bromo-1-methyl-6-(2-pyridinyl)-4H-[1,2,4]triazolo[4,3a][1,4]benzodiazepine (Pyrazolam)
- 2-Ethyl-9-methyl-4-phenyl-6H-thieno[3,2-f][1,2,4]triazolo[4,3-a][1,4]diazepine (Deschloroetizolam)
- 8-Bromo-6-(2-fluorophenyl)-1-methyl-4H-[1,2,4]triazolo[4,3a][1,4]benzodiazepine (Flubromazolam)
- 1-Methyl-8-nitro-6-phenyl-4H-[1,2,4]triazolo[4,3-a][1,4]benzodiazepine (Nitrazolam)
- 5-(2-Fluorophenyl)-3-hydroxy-7-nitro-1,3-dihydro-2H-1,4benzodiazepin-2-one (Nifoxipam)
- 6-(2-Chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-8-nitro-4H-[1,2,4]triazolo[4,3a][1,4]benzodiazepine (Clonazolam)
- 7-Chloro-5-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-methyl-1,3-dihydro-2H-1,4benzodiazepin-2-one (4'-Chlorodiazepam)
- 8-bromo-1-methyl-6-phenyl-4H-[1,2,4]triazolo[4,3a][1,4]benzodiazepine (Bromazolam)
- (3S)-5-(2-Chlorophenyl)-3-methyl-7-nitro-1,3-dihydro-2H-1,4benzodiazepin-2-one (Meclonazepam)
- 1-(8-Chloro-6-phenyl-4H-[1,2,4]triazolo[4,3-a][1,4]benzodiazepin-1-yl)-N,N-dimethylmethanamine (Adinazolam)
- 4-(2-Chlorophenyl)-2-ethyl-6H-thieno[3,2-f][1,2,4]triazolo[4,3-a][1,4]diazepine (Metizolam)

- 7-Bromo-5-(2-chlorophenyl)-3-hydroxy-1,3-dihydro-2H-1,4benzodiazepin-2-one (3-Hydroxyphenazepam)
- 5-(2-Fluorophenyl)-7-nitro-1,3-dihydro-2H-1,4-benzodiazepin-2-one (Fonazepam)

Yours sincerely,

Les Luser

Professor Les Iversen Chair of ACMD

CC:

Rt Hon. Amber Rudd MP (Home Secretary) Rt Hon. Jeremy Hunt MP (Secretary of State for Health) Nicola Blackwood MP (Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Public Health and Innovation)