TERMS OF REFERENCE

[AS AGREED BY SUB GROUP IN MEETING 08.01.15]

Membership

- HS2 Ltd staff;
- Department for Transport representatives;
- Local highway authority officers;
- Highways Agency;
- Transport for London;
- Other representatives as appropriate (examples include utility companies or other local authority representatives where relevant to the discussion)

Purpose

The Highways Sub-group of the HS2 Phase One Planning Forum has been established to:

- facilitate engagement between members of the sub-group on matters related to local highway authority roads and public rights of way;
- seek agreement on a common approach to route-wide principles, standards, practices and processes associated with highway consents and approvals;
- present recommendations on highway-related planning consents and approvals to the Planning Forum;
- to identify and discuss areas of common interest and concern to local highways authorities along the whole line of route; and

to progress maters as raised and directed by the Select Committee. The nature of matters to be addressed by the sub-group may evolve as the project develops. It is not the purpose of the Highways Subgroup to discuss location specific issues and mitigation, which will be considered through bilateral meetings.

Meetings

The sub-group will meet as necessary (initially expected to be at approximately six-weekly intervals) and will elect one of its members to chair its meetings. HS2 Ltd will provide secretariat support to the sub-group.

The business of each meeting will include:

- Agree record of previous meeting;
- Review of progress and actions, including any updates from the Planning Forum;
- Discussion of topics as listed on agenda;
- Agreeing actions, action owners and target dates;
- Time, place and draft agenda for next meeting.

Members are requested to provide material for discussion through the secretariat at least ten days in advance of the meeting in order for the agenda to be finalised and attachments circulated.

HS2 Phase One Planning Forum: Highways Sub-group

Timescales and performance

HS2 Ltd and forum members agree to the following timescales:

- Draft meeting minutes and any material discussed (including presentation slides and agreed changes to the forward agenda) from the previous sub-group meeting to be circulated by HS2 Ltd 2 weeks after the date of the meeting;
- Draft Agenda for following subgroup meeting to be circulated by HS2 Ltd two weeks prior to next subgroup meeting.
- Final agenda and any materials for discussion to be circulated by HS2 Ltd one week prior to next subgroup meeting.

Circulation will be to the Highways sub forum distribution list. Appended to the Terms of Reference.

Appendix 1: Highways Sub-Group members.

Appendix1: Highways Sub-Group Members

Present Distribution List		
Updated: 08/01/15		
Member Authority	Name	Email
LB Camden	Adrian Malcolm	adrian.malcolm@camden.gov.uk
LB Ealing	Russell Roberts	robertsru@ealing.gov.uk
LB Ealing	Nick O'Donnell	ODonnellN@ealing.gov.uk
LB H&F/K&C	Nick Boyle	Nick.Boyle@lbhf.gov.uk
LB Westminster	Don Murchie	dmurchie@westminster.gov.uk
LB Brent	Paul Richards	paul.richards@brent.gov.uk
LB Brent	Paul Mcdonagh	Paul.Mcdonagh@brent.gov.uk
LB Brent	Rachel Best	Rachel.Best@brent.gov.uk
LB Hillingdon	Jales Tipple	JTippell@Hillingdon.gov.uk
Buckinghamshire CC	Alex Day	ALEXDAY@buckscc.gov.uk
Buckinghamshire CC	Sarah Widdows	t-swiddows@buckscc.org
Hertfordshire CC	Muthiah Gunarajah	muthiah.gunarajah@hertfordshire.gov.uk
Northamptonshire CC	Chris Wragg	cwragg@northamptonshire.gov.uk
Northamptonshire CC	David Grindley	dgrindley@northamptonshire.gov.uk
Oxfordshire CC	Jason Sherwood	Jason.Sherwood@Oxfordshire.gov.uk
Oxfordshire CC	Katherine Powley	Katherine.Powley@ Oxfordshire.gov.uk
Warwickshire CC	Chris Simpson	chrissimpson@warwickshire.gov.uk
Warwickshire CC	Andrew Savage	andrewsavage@warwickshire.gov.uk
Warwickshire CC	Gez Romano	gezromano@warwickshire.gov.uk
Staffordshire CC	Lee Palser	lee.palser@staffordshire.gov.uk
Solihull MBC	Dave Bradbury	dbradbur@solihull.gov.uk
Birmingham City Council	Kevin Hicks	kevin.hicks@birmingham.gov.uk
TfL	Michael Colella	michaelcolella@tfl.gov.uk
TfL	Tim Thomas	TimThomas@tfl.gov.uk
TfL	Simon Weaver	SimonWeaver@tfl.gov.uk

HS2 Phase One Planning Forum: Highways Sub-group

TfL		Andy Best	andy.best@tfl.gov.uk	
Highways Agency		Paul Hillman	Paul.Hillman@highways.gsi.gov.uk	
Highways Agency		Philippa Bloom	Philippa.Bloom@highways.gsi.gov.uk	
Highways Agency		Martin Steward	Martin.Steward@highways.gsi.gov.uk	
HS2 Ltd Attendee	s			
DfT	Su Arnal		Su.Arnall@dft.gsi.gov.uk	
HS2 Ltd	Phil King		philip.king@hs2.org.uk	
HS2 Ltd	Richard Adam		richard.adam@hs2.org.uk	
HS2 Ltd	John Woodhouse		john.woodhouse@hs2.org.uk	
HS2 Ltd	Peter Tomlin		peter.tomlin@hs2.org.uk	
HS2 Ltd	James Fearnley		james.fearnley@hs2.org.uk	
HS2 Ltd	Mike Kelly		Mike.Kelly@HS2.org.uk	
District Council At	tendees (o	ptional)		
Chiltern District Council	Steve Braund		SBraund@chiltern.gov.uk	
Chiltern District Council	Ben Coakley		bcoakley@chiltern.gov.uk	
Warwick District	Debbie Prince		Debbie.Prince@warwickdc.gov.uk	
South Northants	David Allen		David.Allen@SouthNorthants.gov.uk	
Independent Chair				
HS2 Planning Forum	Ted Allett		HS2PlanningChair@aol.com	