Delegation Biographies

Rt Hon. Baroness D'Souza CMG, Lord Speaker and Delegation Leader:

Rt Hon. Baroness D'Souza CMG was elected Lord Speaker of the House of Lords in 2011. Baroness D'Souza was educated at St Mary's School, Princethorpe and studied Anthropology at University College, London, graduating in 1970. She subsequently undertook further study at Lady Margaret Hall, University of Oxford, obtaining the degree of Doctor of Philosophy (D.Phil.) in 1976. Baroness D'Souza worked for the Nuffield Institute of Comparative Medicine from 1973 to 1977, Oxford Polytechnic (now Oxford Brookes University) from 1977 to 1980 and was an independent research consultant for the UN from 1985 to 1988.

Baroness D'Souza was invested as a Companion of the Order of St Michael and St George in 1999 and became a life peer on 1 July 2004. She held the position of Convenor of the Crossbench Peers before her election to the post of Lord Speaker.

The Lord Balfe of Dulwich, Member of the House of Lords, (Liberal Democrat):

Richard Balfe was raised to the peerage as Baron Balfe, of Dulwich in the London Borough of Southwark 2013. Lord Balfe is a Member, European Union Sub-committee A (Economic and Financial Affairs) (2014-) and Vice-chair of the All Party Parliamentary Group's on Turkey (2014-) and Australia and New Zealand (2014-) respectively.

Prior to entering the House of Lords, Lord Balfe was a Member (1973-77) of the Greater London Council (GLC) and Chair, Housing Committee (1975-77) for the GLC before becoming Member of the European Parliament for London South Inner 1979-99, for London 1999-2004.

Rt Hon. Simon Burns MP, Member of Parliament for Chelmsford Eastern (Conservative):

Simon contested Alyn and Deeside in the 1983 general election and has been a Member for Chelmsford 1987-97, for Chelmsford West 1997-2010 and currently for Chelmsford since May 2010 general election. Simon has served as: PPS to Timothy Eggar as Minister of State at Departments of Employment 1989-90, Education and Science 1990-92, Trade and Industry 1992-93, to Gillian Shephard as Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food 1993-94; as Assistant Government Whip 1994-95; Government Whip 1995-96; Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department of Health 1996-97; Opposition Spokesperson for Social Security 1997-1998, Environment, Transport and the Regions (Planning, Housing and Construction) 1998-99, Health 2001-05. He has been Shadow Minister for: Health and Education 2001-04, Health 2004-05; Opposition Whip 2005-10; Minister of State: for Health, Department of Health 2010-12, Department for Transport 2012-13; Contested Deputy Speaker election 2013.

Simon has also sat on numerous Select Committees including; Health 1999-05, Public Accounts 2000-01, Armed Forces Bill 2005-06, Administration 2006-09, Selection 2007-08. Simon is also a Member, UK Delegation, Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe Parliamentary Assembly 2014-present.

Rt Rev. the Lord Harries of Pentregarth, Member of the House of Lords, (Crossbench):

Lord Bishop Harries was raised to the peerage as Baron Harries of Pentregarth, of Ceinewydd in the County of Dyfed 2006 and first entered the House of Lords as Bishop of Oxford in 1993.

Political career: Convener of Bench of Bishops, 1998-2006; Member of the following Lords Select Committees: Works of Art, 2012-; Joint Committee on Privacy and Injunctions, 2011-2012; Procedure, 2007-2012; Chair Stern Cell Research, 2001-2002; Member, House of Lords' Offices, 1997-2001; Chair, Interfaith All-Party Parliamentary Group since 2011. Lord Harries is Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Dalits.

Andy Love MP, Member of Parliament for Edmonton, London (Labour):

Andy was first elected in 1997, joining the House of Commons Public Accounts Select Committee, which scrutinises the expenditure of Parliament and its associated organisations, and assesses the value for money given to taxpayers in relation to Parliament's work.

He has also held roles as a Parliamentary Private Secretary to ministers in the Departments of Health, Trade and Industry and Communities and Local Government. Since 2005 Andy has been a member of the Treasury Select Committee, which investigates issues surrounding the economy and the banking and financial sectors. In his time on the Committee Andy has had the opportunity to question three different Chancellors, the Governor of the Bank of England and prominent figures from banks and financial institutions on how their policies and actions affect the wider UK and global economy. He is also an active member of a number of All Party Parliamentary Groups that reflect the concerns and backgrounds of many people in Edmonton.

The Lord Purvis of Tweed, Member of the House of Lords (Liberal Democrat):

Jeremy is a Liberal Democrat working peer and one of the youngest ever Life Peers. He was elected to the Scottish Parliament as the youngest constituency MSP, aged 29. He served two terms in Holyrood as MSP for Tweeddale, Ettrick & Lauderdale. The seat no longer exists owing to boundary changes. During his terms in Holyrood he served as the Scottish Lib Dem Shadow Finance Secretary. In 2011-12 he chaired the cross party Devo Plus group writing their proposals for the future of Scotland.

He was born in Berwick-Upon-Tweed in 1974, studied politics and history and remains committed to the Scottish Borders. He took the title Tweed after his native river; being born at its mouth and representing its source in his former constituency.

Dame Angela Watkinson DBE MP, Member of Parliament for Upminster, London (Conservative):

Angela was elected Member for Upminster 2001-10, for Hornchurch and Upminster since May 2010 general election. During her parliamentary career Angela has served as: Opposition Whip 2002-04; Shadow Minister for: Health and Education 2004, Education 2004-05, Local Government Affairs and Communities 2005; Opposition Whip 2005-10; Government Whip 2010-12. Angela has also been a Member of Select Committees on: Home Affairs 2001-02, European Scrutiny 2002-03, Selection 2010-12, Work and Pensions 2013-2014 and Secretary of the Backbench Committee on Conservative Education Policy Committee 2001-02. Angela is also a Member of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe 2004-05, 2013-present.

Andrew Tuggey DL, Chief Executive and Secretary:

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association UK Branch, Houses of Parliament

Hatty Cooper, Head of International Outreach:

Commonwealth Parliamentary Association UK Branch, Houses of Parliament

Simon Blackburn, Private Secretary to the Lord Speaker:

House of Lords, Houses of Parliament