

Ofqual Board

Paper 119/14

Date: 25 March, 2015

Title: Review of appointments to Board Committees

Report by: Alison Townsend, Board Secretariat Manager

Responsible Director: Jeremy Benson, Director of Vocational Qualifications

Paper for decision

open paper

Issue

1. To consider the outcome of a review of the membership of Board Committees.

Recommendation

- 2. The Board is recommended to:-
 - (i) reappoint the independent members of the Standards Advisory Group at Annex A for a the twelve month period to 31 March 2016;
 - (ii) reappoint the independent members of the Vocational Advisory Group at annex B for a the twelve month period to 31 March 2016; and
 - (iii) reappoint the board members highlighted in the table at Annex C to the Board Committees identified until their appointments to the Board expires on 31 March 2018.

Background

3. The Standards Advisory Group and Vocational Advisory Group are made up of both Board members and independent members with relevant expertise. The appointment of independent members to the groups are routinely made for a twelve month period after which the operation and membership of the group is reviewed. Current membership of each group is set out at Annexes A and B. Consideration has been given to the membership and operation of both groups and it is felt that they are working well and there is no immediate need for adjustment. Previously appointments to the two groups have expired at different dates and it is proposed that appointments are brought into line with the Board member appointment process and made for a twelve month period from 1 April 2015 to 31 March 2016. The Board is asked to reappoint the independent members of the Standards Advisory Group and Vocational Advisory Groups set out at Annexes A and B

4. The terms of office of five Board members, Anne Heal, Barnaby Lenon, Roger Taylor, Tom Taylor and Julius Weinberg, will come to an end on 31 March 2015. The Secretary of State has reappointed each board member for a further three year period from 1 April 2015 to 31 March 2018. The appointments of the five board members to Committees will expire with their terms of office on 31 March 2015. The Board is asked to reappoint those members to the Committees indicated at Annex A

Finance and Resource

5. Costs for meetings of Board committees including any attendance allowances payable to independent members of the Standards and Vocational Advisory Groups are included in the appropriate budgets.

Impact Assessments

Equality Analysis

Not applicable.

6.

Risk Assessment

7. If these appointments are not made there is a risk that Ofqual will not be able to secure the advice it needs.

Regulatory Impact Assessment

8. Not applicable.

Timescale

9. Reappointments will take effect from 1 April 2015.

Communications

10. Decisions taken by the Board on this matter will be communicated appropriately to those involved with the committees. Details of the membership of both groups is published on Ofqual's website.

Paper to be published	YES
Publication date (if relevant)	After meeting

ANNEXES LIST:-

- ANNEX A Standards Advisory Group Independent Membership
- ANNEX B Vocational Advisory Group Independent Membership
- ANNEX C Schedule of Board Member Committee appointments (reappointed members highlighted)

ANNEX A

Standards Advisory Group – Independent Membership

Jo-Anne Baird	Pearson Professor and Director of the Oxford Centre for Educational Assessment
Paul Black	Emeritus Professor of Science Education, King's College London
Rob Coe	School of Education, Durham University
Caroline Gipps	former Vice Chancellor, University of Wolverhampton
Grace Grima	Director of Research, Pearson UK
Tina Isaacs	Programme Leader, MA in Educational Assessment, Institute of Education
Jerry Jarvis	former Chief Executive Edexcel
Roger Murphy	School of Education, The University of Nottingham
Tim Oates	Group Director of Assessment Research and Development, Cambridge Assessment
Alastair Pollitt Alex Scharaschkin Gordon Stobart	Cambridge Exam Research Director of the Centre for Education Research and Practice Institute of Education, University of London

ANNEX B

Vocational Advisory Group – Independent Membership

Independent Members

Alan Brown	University of Warwick
Kathryn Ecclestone	University of Sheffield
Norman Gealy	Director, Network Exams Ltd
Ewart Keep	Centre on Skills, Knowledge and Organisational
	Performance (SKOPE)
Mark Protherough	Executive Director, Learning and Professional
	Development, ICAEW
Gordon Stobart	Institute of Education
Lorna Unwin	Institute of Education
Alison Wolf	Kings College London

Schedule of Board Member Committee appointments

	Standards Advisory Group	Finance Committee	Audit and Risk Assurance Committee	Vocational Advisory Group	Reform Committee	Other forums
Number of board places	2 to 5	up to 4	up to 4	up to 6	up to 5	
Tim Balcon		Х		Х		
Mike Cresswell	Х			Х		
Philip Fletcher			X			
Maggie Galliers			С	Х	Х	
Anne Heal			X			
Barnaby Lenon	X					
Dana Ross-Wawrzynski			Х			Stakeholder forums
Terri Scott						
Amanda Spielman	С			X	Х	
Glenys Stacey	Х			Х	Х	
Roger Taylor						
Tom Taylor		С				
Neil Watts		Х				
Julius Weinberg	X				X	
Places appointed to	5	3	4	5	4	

C Chair X Member

ANNEX C