## **OFT Annual Report and Accounts 2013 to 2014**

## Annexe K: OFT Director Generals and CEOs 1973-2014

The Office of Fair Trading (OFT) was established in 1973 stemming from the Fair Trading Act of 1973.

The legislation was adopted to protect consumers from being deceived or treated unfairly by traders and to promote fair and transparent competition across all markets. The original Act allowed the Director General of Fair Trading to regulate possible monopolies, to encourage competition, to make Orders and to seek assurances.

## OFT Director Generals and CEO's 1973 - 2014

Date	Name	Title
1973 – 1976	John Methven	DG
1976 – 1992	Gordon Borrie	DG
1992 – 1995	Bryan Carsberg	DG
May 1995 – 30 September 1995	Jeffrey Preston	DG
1995 – 2000	John Bridgman	DG
2000 – 2003	John Vickers	DG
2003 – 2004	John Vickers	Joint Chair and CEO
2005 – Mar 2014	Philip Collins	Chairman
2005 – 2012	John Fingleton	CEO
2012 – Feb 2014	Clive Maxwell	CEO
February 2014 – 31 <sup>st</sup> March 2014	Vivienne Dews	CEO