ANNEX E

## MACC: BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES ON COMMISSIONERS

**Dr John Hughes (Chair)** was a British career diplomat for 35 years starting as a research specialist on North America. Thereafter he served in Santiago, Washington DC and Oslo ending with two tours as Ambassador (Caracas and Buenos Aires). He also worked in the Cabinet Office and on two secondments to industry (BAe Systems, and Shell). Currently he is the Robin Humphreys Fellow at the Institute for the Study of the Americas, University of London and is a director of LatAm Consult.

**Dr Ruth Kosmin (Deputy Chair)** was until her retirement in 2008 the Head of European Economics at HM Treasury, serving as the UK representative on the EU Economic Policy Committee from 2006 to 2008. She has worked as an economist and economic adviser in a number of senior positions in the UK government service for nearly 30 years. She has worked on secondment at both PricewaterhouseCoopers and at the children's charity, Barnados.

**Mr Michael Birshan** is a Partner at McKinsey & Company and leads the firm's Strategy Practice hub in the UK and Ireland. He is based in London and has also worked in San Francisco and Mumbai. Before joining McKinsey, he was an English-Speaking Union Capitol Hill Scholar and worked as an aide to a US Congressman in Washington, DC and to a Canadian Member of Parliament in Ottawa.

**Professor Bob Deacon** is a distinguished professor of Social Policy who was elected to the UK Academy of the Social Sciences in 2003. He is a world expert in and leading analyst of the relationship between globalisation and social policy. In this context he was the founding editor of Global Social Policy and authors of the first and the leading text in the subject: Global Social Policy and Governance.

**Professor Richard Dendy** has since 1995 led the Theoretical Physics group in the nuclear fusion research programme conducted by Euratom and the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority at Culham in Oxfordshire, and he is concurrently a Director of the Centre for Fusion, Space and Astrophysics at Warwick University. In 2010 he was appointed Honorary Professor of Physics at Kyushu University in Fukuoka, Japan.

**Mr Timothy Hornsby** is currently the Chair of the Horniman Museum, and Chair of the Harkness Fellows Association. He is an independent member of the Consumer Council for Water, and a Trustee of the Royal Botanical Gardens, Kew. He is also a Governor of the Legacy Trust. In his previous career he was a Commissioner and Chair of the National Lottery Commission.

**Ms Carol Madison Graham** was from 2002 to 2006 the Executive Director of the US UK Fulbright Commission and founded the UK Scholarship Network for heads of UK based scholarship organizations. She was heavily involved in initiatives to increase diversity of institutions and students. She has held a number of positions on advisory committees including several years on the British Council's Advisory Committee for Governance and the Institute for the Study of the Americas at the University of London. She leaves the Commission this year.

**Mr Simon Morris** was Secretary and Registrar of Keele University from August 1997 to December 2011. As such he was the Head of the University Administration and Secretary to the University Council and Senate. A graduate of Durham University, he joined Keele after a long career in the Royal Air Force. He is a graduate of the Advanced Staff Course of the Royal Air Force Staff College and a Fellow of the British Institute of Facilities Management. He leaves the Commission this year.

**Professor Eric Thomas** has been Vice-Chancellor of the University of Bristol since September 2001 and is Vice President of Universities UK. He is also a member of the Universities UK Board. He chaired the government Taskforce into Increasing Voluntary Giving in Higher Education which reported in 2004. He was Chair of the Worldwide Universities Network from 2003 - 2007. He was a member of the Board of the South-West Regional Development Agency from 2002-8. He leaves the Commission this year.

**Professor Nigel Thrift** is Vice-Chancellor of the University of Warwick and has launched an ambitious new strategy for Warwick's future and has led the University in: implementing an extensive capital plan; achieving a 50% increase in research income; producing the highest ever annual philanthropic income in 2009; and establishing high-profile partnerships and research collaborations with leading universities in the US, Australia, India, Asia and Europe.