## FOI Release Information released under the Freedom of Information Act

**Title:** List of company names that have the UK taxpayer as a shareholder

Date of release: 20 June 2013

## **Information request**

Disclose the list of company names that have the UK taxpayer as shareholder (even if a minority shareholder). This will include UKFI ltd list of "investee companies"; the 20 state-owned businesses for whom the Shareholder executive is responsible for, and any companies 100% owned by UK taxpayers.

## Information released

The full list of state-owned companies is not held by this Department.

The Shareholder Executive, which is part of BIS, is currently responsible for 20 businesses although this changes over time depending on Government priorities and policy decisions. Some of these are public bodies and some are companies operating in a commercial market. The common factor is that they are all partowned or wholly-owned by Government. They are:

- Companies House
- Green Investment Bank
- Land Registry
- Met Office
- Ordnance Survey
- Post Office Ltd
- Roval Mail
- UK Export Finance
- Urenco
- Channel 4
- National Nuclear Laboratories
- Nuclear Decommissioning Authority
- CDC
- Eurostar
- NATS
- Working Links

- Royal Mint UK Hydrographic Office Nuclear Liabilities Fund
- London and Continental Railways

In addition UK Financial Investments are responsible for the Government's shareholding in RBS and Lloyds Group.