

January 2011

Big Lottery Fund reappointments and appointment

Judith Donovan CBE, Alison Magee (Scotland Country Chair), Sanjay Dighe (England Country Chair) and Albert Tucker have been reappointed as Members of the Big Lottery Fund for 12 months, from 1st December to 30th November 2011.

Janet Reed OBE has been appointed as acting Wales Country Chair for a period of six months, from 1st October 2010 to 31st March 2011.

Background

Judith Donovan CBE

Judith Donovan CBE was one of the first female entrepreneurs in Yorkshire, founding her own marketing agency in 1982, which she grew to over 50 staff, and a turnover of £12.5 million, before selling to her managers in 2000. Since then she has pursued a public sector and NED career and is currently a Board Director of HSE, BIG Lottery and British Wool Marketing Board. She is also a Governor of Legacy Trust UK, and a member of the Lord Chancellor's Advisory Committee for North Yorkshire. In addition, she supports both York Minster and Ripon Cathedral strategically. Previously she has been Chair of the Yorkshire Tourist Board, Chair of Bradford TEC, President of Bradford Chamber of Commerce, Vice Chair of Postwatch, a Millennium Commissioner and a Trustee of Northern Ballet.

Alison Magee (Scotland Country Chair)

Alison Magee was the Convener of Highland Council for the four years to May 2007. She has had nearly 20 years' experience in Scottish local government as an independent councillor, including:

- four years as Convener of Sutherland District Council
- chair of Highland 2007 (the year Scotland celebrates Highland culture)
- chair of Inverness City Partnership
- a member of Highland Health Board.

She has also been a Board Member of Caithness and Sutherland Enterprise, and previously ran a small business. She lives in central Sutherland.

Sanjay Dighe (England Country Chair)

Sanjay Dighé is currently Principal of Vega Risk Consulting providing training and consultancy in financial derivatives and risk management. He has previously held senior executive positions in investment banks including Global Head of Equity Derivatives at Banque Paribas Capital Markets. Other experience includes:

- Councillor and Deputy Leader Harrow Council (Labour) Lead Member for Equalities, London Councils
- Non-Executive Director and Chair of Audit Committee
- Central and North West London Mental Health Trust.

Sanjay is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. He is a member of the Strategic Planning Society and founder member of the London chapter of the



Global Association of Risk Professionals. He is a Governor of two schools and a Further Education college and holds M.B.A and B.Sc. (Hons) degrees. culture, media and sport and sport

Albert Tucker

Albert Tucker is a leading figure in the fair-trade movement and overseas development, and is an advocate for poor small farmers in global trade and policy. He has a longstanding track record with leading charitable funders financing UK and international development. Albert has had senior management and non-executive roles in regeneration, community development and social enterprise.

He was Chief Executive of Twin and Twin Trading for nine years, and has been the chair of Comic Relief's International Grants Committee and associated with Comic Relief for over 16 years, funding innovative programmes with poor communities in the UK, Africa, Asia and Latin America. He is also:

- trustee and grants panel member of the City Parochial Foundation
- a non-Executive Director of The Places for People Group, one of the largest and leading Registered Social Landlords in the UK
- chair of the Assurance and Regulation Board.

He currently works as an independent consultant and recently worked with the BBC, contributing to their Africa Lives season.

Janet Reed OBE

Janet Reed retired from the post of National Manager for Wales for British Gas in 2005. Janet's career with British Gas spanned 31 years and involved roles in sales, marketing and general management in both the commercial and domestic markets.

She was instrumental in setting up the National Sales Office in Cardiff, which employed in excess of 2000 staff. She was awarded the OBE in 2004 for services to economic development in Wales. Janet was a board member of Business in the Community for 12 years and has a particular interest in encouraging business leaders to involve themselves in the communities in which they are based. She is now using this experience in her role as Trustee of the Welsh Scout Council.

- Janet was previously a Council member and Chair of CBI Wales.
- She was a board member of the WDA and was part of the Leadership Group for the Princes Trust in Wales.
- She is a non executive Director of Milford Haven Port Authority.
- Committee chair People and Places

Background

1. BIG was formed through administrative merger in June 2004 out of two distinct bodies, the New Opportunities Fund and the Community Fund. It was created in law following the National Lottery Act 2006 and came into being formally on 1 December 2006. It also inherited the responsibilities of the Millennium Commission at the same time. BIG was created as a single organisation, with a new vision, new values, a new brand, and with a new role in funding for health, education, environment and charitable purposes. Its brief extends to promoting the benefits of Lottery funding more



extensively, for example, providing shared services in areas such as department for website information across the Lottery distribution bodies.

culture, media and sport

- 2. BIG distributes 50% of the good causes money raised through the UK National Lottery and is committed to bringing real improvements to communities and the lives of people most in need. BIG has awarded grants that have helped change the lives of disadvantaged and socially excluded people throughout the UK.
- 3. Board Members may claim remuneration of £218 per day in addition to reasonable travel and subsistence expenses. The Country Chair's receive an annual remuneration of £25,256, in addition to reasonable travel and subsistence expenses.
- 4. This appointment has been made in accordance with the OCPA Code of Practice. Appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees' political activity (if any declared) to be made public. no political activity. Judith Donovan, Alison Magee, Albert Tucker and Janet Reed have declared no political activity. Sanjay Dighe has obtained office, spoken and canvassed on behalf of the Labour Party.