# Department for Communities and Local Government Board Meeting Minutes of the Board meeting held on 2 February 2011

#### **Present:**

The Rt Hon Eric Pickles MP – Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government (Chair)
Andrew Stunell OBE, MP – Parliamentary Under Secretary of State

Baroness Hanham, CBE— Parliamentary Under Secretary of State

Sara Weller, Lead Non Executive Board Member Diana Brightmore-Armour, Non Executive Board Member Stephen Hay, Non Executive Board Member

Sir Bob Kerslake, Permanent Secretary
Richard McCarthy, Director-General
David Prout, Director-General
David Rossington, Acting, Director-General
Andrew Campbell, Director, Strategy and Programme Team

## Secretariat:

Nick Dexter Rebecca Shrubsole

# Item 1: Introduction and where we want to be by 2013

- 1. The Secretary of State welcomed the Non Executive Directors to their first Board meeting. He invited attendees to introduce themselves.
- 2. The Secretary of State gave a presentation on "Board Priorities: the road to 2013". He explained that the department's three priorities remained localism, localism and localism. At the same time the department was undergoing a major restructuring programme which would see it reduce in size by up to 40% by October 2012. The Secretary of State had six goals for 2013
  - 1) There will be a new method of financing local government.
  - 2) Neighbourhoods will be involved for planning for their area within a democratically accountable system.
  - 3) A common sense approach to promoting community cohesion and tackling extremism.
  - 4) Local Authorities will actively promote growth
  - 5) A new approach to delivering much needed affordable homes.
  - 6) The New Homes Bonus driving additional house-building.

3. There was discussion of the challenges and opportunities facing the Department. The Secretary of State explained that he was looking to the Non Executives to help the department deliver consistently good results.

### **Item 2: Board Terms of Reference**

- 4. The Board moved onto consider the draft Terms of Reference. Sir Bob Kerslake explained that Stephen Hay had agreed to continue to chair the department's Audit and Risk Committee and that Diana Brightmore-Armour would also serve on the Committee pending the appointment of another Non Executive Director. Diana would also Chair the department's Remuneration Committee which would have a broader role than traditional remuneration committees. Sara Weller would serve on the Committee pending the appointment of a fourth Non Executive Board member.
- 5. The Board agreed that the Remuneration Committee could also look at the department's capabilities and how to improve productivity. The Board agreed the draft Terms of Reference.

# **Item 3: Closing Remarks**

6. The Secretary of State thanked attendees for their contribution to the meeting.

Rebecca Shrubsole February 2011