

National Heritage Memorial Fund – Reappointment of Chair & Trustees

The Prime Minister has reappointed Dame Jenny Abramsky CBE as Chair of The National Heritage Memorial Fund, for the three years commencing 1 September 2011. He has also reappointed Kim Evans OBE and Hilary Lade as Trustees, for the three years commencing 22 July 2011 and 1 October 2011 respectively, and reappointed Dan Clayton Jones as the Trustee for Wales and Deputy Chairman of the UK Board, for the six months to 11 January 2012.

Biographical details

Dame Jenny Abramsky CBE

Director of BBC Audio & Music, with responsibility for all BBC national radio networks, for the BBC's digital radio services, and for music across television, radio, online and live events, until retiring in 2008. She was also a member of the BBC Executive Board, responsible for the delivery of BBC services and day-to-day operations across the organisation. She has spent most of her working life at the BBC, where she was the editor of the Today programme on Radio 4; launched BBC Radio Five Live, BBC News Online and BBC News 24 as well as 5 digital radio stations; and commissioned the Electric Proms (an annual festival of popular contemporary music, designed to complement the BBC Proms season of classical music).

She is Chair of the University of London's Board of Trustees, Chair of the Hampstead Theatre, a Trustee of the Central School of Ballet and of the Shakespeare Schools Festival and an Honorary Member of the Royal Academy of Music. Previously she served as Governor of the British Film Institute and on the Economic Social and Research Council. She holds no other public appointments.

Kim Evans OBE

An arts consultant with a wide range of clients, she was formerly an award-winning documentary film maker before becoming Head of Music and Arts at the BBC and then Executive Director, Arts at Arts Council England. Currently, she is a Board member of London Artists Projects, Akademi Dance, and the Chelsea & Westminster Health Charity. She was appointed an independent member of the Parole Board of England and Wales by the Home Secretary in 2006, for which she is remunerated according to the number of cases examined. She was appointed a Trustee of the National Portrait Gallery in 2010, which is unremunerated. In 2007, she received an OBE for Services to the Arts.

Hilary Lade

Vice-Chairman and Director of Oxford Inspires from 1998 until 2008, she had previously worked as Managing Director (Shell Gas Limited) for Shell UK, before joining the National Trust as Property Manager for Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal. In 1993, she joined English Heritage as Director of Historic Properties, with responsibility for all of its 410 historic properties and then returned to Shell UK as Head of Global Gas Business. Between 1999 and 2002, she chaired the Royal Parks Advisory Board followed by the position of Director of the British Tourist Authority. She holds no other public appointments.



Dan Clayton Jones

Dan Clayton Jones began his career in marketing with Ford of Europe, based in Brussels. Over the following twelve years he held senior marketing appointments with the Wales Tourist Board and the Rank Organisation. He is currently a Director of Cord Investments Ltd and J.J. & F Property Holdings Ltd, both leisure and commercial property companies. A life-long supporter of the heritage in Wales, he was Secretary of the Historic Houses Association in Wales for 12 years and is a founding Life Member of the Historic Gardens Trust. Dan has been the Vice-Chairman of the National Trust in Wales and was the first Chairman of the National Botanic Garden of Wales, a £44 million Millennium project. In the last three years he has chaired Hendreff Building Preservation Trust, Cowbridge Physic Garden Trust and is the Chancellor and Knight of the Order of St John in Wales. A former High Sheriff of his County, since 1999 he has held the appointment of Hon. Consul for Canada in Wales and was made a Deputy Lieutenant of Mid Glamorgan in 2001. He was also Chairman of "Prime Cymru", one of the Prince of Wales Group of Charities, until 2008.

Notes to Editors

The National Heritage Memorial Fund (NHMF) is the fund of last resort for the nation's heritage, coming to the rescue by funding emergency acquisitions. In 1994, the NHMF Trustees were also given the major task of distributing the heritage share of Lottery money for good causes, which it now operates through the Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF). This Fund was set up by Parliament in 1994 to give grants to a wide range of projects involving the local, regional and national heritage of the United Kingdom. HLF enables communities to celebrate, look after and learn more about the UK's diverse heritage. HLF funds the entire spread of heritage, including buildings, museums, natural heritage and the heritage of cultural traditions and language. Trustees dedicate 2-3 days per month to the role, for which £6560 is offered annually in remuneration. The Chair dedicates 2-3 days per week, for which £42,964 is offered annually in remuneration.

The appointment process has followed the OCPA Code of Practice. Appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for political activity in the United Kingdom in the past five years (if any declared) to be made public. Dame Jenny, Ms Evans and Ms Lade have each declared no political activity.