

December 2011

Reappointment of two Trustees of the Natural History Museum

The Prime Minister has reappointed Professor David Drewry and Dr Derek Langlsow as Trustees of the Natural History Museum, for the four years commencing 6 May 2012.

Biographical details

Professor David Drewry is a glaciologist and geophysicist, and is Vice-President of the European University Association. He is also a Visiting Professor at the University of London (Queen Mary); Xiamen University, China; and Krakow Academy, Poland. He is an Honorary Fellow of Emmanuel College, Cambridge, and Chairman of the South Georgia Association. He holds no other public appointments.

Dr Derek Langslow CBE is a specialist in biodiversity and the use of science for public benefit. He is currently a board member of the Marine Management Organisation. He was the Chief Executive of English Nature from 1990 until 2000. Previously he worked as a research scientist and lecturer at Cambridge and Edinburgh Universities. He holds no other public appointments.

Notes to Editors

The Natural History Museum is home to the largest and most important natural history collection in the world, gathered over the last 400 years, with over 70 million specimens ranging from microscopic slides to mammoth skeletons. Its mission is to maintain and develop its collections, and use them to promote the discovery, understanding, responsible use and enjoyment of the natural world. Trustees of the Natural History Museum are not remunerated, and entry to the Museum is free.

The appointment process has followed the OCPA Code of Practice. Appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for political activity in the United Kingdom in the past five years (if any declared) to be made public. Prof Drewry and Dr Langslow have each declared no political activity.