Community Resilience Programme Steering Group- Terms of Reference

Objectives

- To oversee the work of the community resilience programme delivered by the Cabinet Office.
- To share experience and expertise to enhance the government contribution to build and enhance community resilience.
- To ensure that cross-Government and cross-sector interdependencies are accounted for in the Community Resilience programme.
- To enable all who wish to become engaged in community resilience by signposting them to appropriate sources of guidance and support.
- To act as national advocates for community resilience amongst key stakeholder groups.
- To seek out and use opportunities where the community resilience programme can add value in all sectors.

Deliverables/Work Programme

- To contribute to and approve products developed by the community resilience programme, at the initial development, consultation and pre-publication phases.
- To form sub groups of specialist expertise, where appropriate, to advise and act as critical friends to specific community resilience projects, for example;
 - Schools
 - Olympics
 - Business
 - Incident specific (e.g. Flooding)
 - Parishes and Neighbourhoods
- To monitor progress against the Community Resilience Programme Action Plan

Chair and Secretariat

Kathy Settle, Deputy Director, Local Response Capability, Civil Contingencies Secretariat will chair the group.

The Civil Contingencies Secretariat will provide the secretariat for the group. Papers will be distributed 7 working days before meetings by email and provided in hard copy to community members.

E:Community.resilience@cabinet-office.x.gsi.gov.uk

T: 020 7276 5295



Scope

The scope of the group will extend to all aspects of the government contribution to building and enhancing community resilience across England and Wales.

Timing/Frequency of meetings

The group should meet quarterly to review the progress of the Community Resilience programme. Sub groups may need to meet more frequently when completing specific objectives. Meetings should be held in the regions and in Wales.

Accountability

The group will be accountable to the relevant Official level Cabinet Committee meeting which oversees resilience work within the Cabinet Office (NSID PSR (O)). The group will not assume ownership or responsibility for any products or projects developed by other Government Departments, or other members of the group. These will remain the responsibility of the originating organisation.

Proposed Members

Name	Organisation
Anna Dougal	CLG
Warwick Hawkins/Jackie Westlake	CLG
Frances Duffy	DCMS
Charlie Edwards	Home Office
Bob Farmer	DEFRA
Neil Smith	Office of Civil Society
Martin Fenlon	Emergency Planning College
Carol McCall	Cabinet Office Communications
Wyn Price	Welsh Assembly Government
Noel Rehfisch	Scottish Resilience
Judith Brown	Northern Ireland Executive
Julie Grugel	Government Office North West
Mark Norbury	Strategic Resilience Advisor-
	Ambulance Service
Peter Cheesman	Community member
Karen Caine	Community member
Nicola Warner	Community member
Dr Beccy Whittle	Lancaster University
Dr Brooke Rogers	Kings College
Ian Cameron	Media Advisor
Azkar Mohammed	Pioneers Leading The Way
Martin Tolman	Birmingham Resilience Team
Alan Bravey	Humber Emergency Planning
	Manager
Rosanna Briggs	Essex County Council (and Chair of
	NSCWIP)
(Name TBC)	Chief Fire Officer's Association
Moya Wood-Heath	British Red Cross



Martin Annis	British Red Cross
Pamela Dix	Executive Director, Disaster Action
Angela Currie	WRVS
Mary Dhonau	Chief Executive, National Flood
	Forum
Kathy Settle	Chair, CCS
John Tesh	CCS
Rob Doran	CCS
Helen Harper	CCS
Mandy Mackenzie	CCS
Stuart Sterling	CCS
Laura Gibb	CCS

