

Overseas Territories Directorate Foreign & Commonwealth Office King Charles Street London SW1A 2AH

www.fco.gov.uk

01 November 2017

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT 2000 REQUEST REF: FOI 0967-17

Thank you for your email of 12 October 2017 asking for information under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) 2000. You asked:

Please provide me with the names and official addresses of all current judicial officers (judges, registrars, magistrates, etc.) for the British Indian Ocean Territory AND the contact information (mailing address, phone, and email) for The British Indian Ocean Territory Supreme Court, The British Indian Ocean Territory Court of Appeals, The British Indian Ocean Territory Magistrates Courts, and any other British Indian Ocean Territory tribunal or commercial court currently composed whether sitting or not.

I am writing to confirm that we have now completed the search for the information which you requested.

I can confirm that the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) does hold information relevant to your request.

The list of judicial officers for the British Indian Ocean Territory is as follows:

Chief Justice – Sir Simon Bryan Registrar of the Court of Appeal – Michael Elks

Registrar of the Supreme Court – Michael Elks President of the Court of Appeal – vacant Justice of the Court of Appeal – vacant Senior Magistrate – Charles Ekins

The Magistrate's Court is located on Diego Garcia but could also be located in the UK if deemed appropriate for the case in question. All other BIOT Court locations are to be determined, depending on the case.

All of the above can be contacted through the BIOT Administration (OTD, Foreign & Commonwealth Office, King Charles Street, London SW1A 2AH).

Yours sincerely,

Overseas Territories Directorate



We keep and use information in line with the Data Protection Act 1998. We may release this personal information to other UK government departments and public authorities.