UK-Japan 21st Century Group 30th Annual Conference

List of Participants

UK

Lord (Michael) Howard UK Co-Chairman, UK-Japan 21st Century Group

Sir John Boyd Chairman of Asia House

Samir Brikho Group Chief Executive, AMEC

Prof Marie Conte-Helm UK Executive Director, UK-Japan 21st Century Group

Lord (Jack) Cunningham of Felling House of Lords

Charles Grant Director, Centre for European Reform

Prof Robin Grimes Chief Scientific Adviser, FCO

Tim Hitchens UK Ambassador to Japan

Prof Glenn Hook Director, Graduate School of East Asian Studies,

University of Sheffield

Terence Jagger Chief Executive, Crown Agents

Margot James Member of Parliament (Conservative Party)

Lord (Digby) Jones House of Lords and former Director, CBI

Lord (Jack) McConnell House of Lords

Sir Richard Needham Former Minister of Trade

(The Earl of Kilmorey)

Dr Robin Niblett Director, Chatham House

Yasmin Qureshi Member of Parliament (Labour Party)

Baroness (Ros) Scott Member of Parliament (Liberal Democrat Party)

Andrew Smithers Chairman, Smithers & Co

Philip Stephens Associate Editor, The Financial Times

Prof John Swenson-Wright Fuji Bank Senior Lecturer in Modern Japanese Politics

and International Relations, Cambridge University and

Associate Fellow, Chatham House

Richard Thornley President, Rolls-Royce Japan

Sir David Warren Chairman, The Japan Society, and former UK

Ambassador to Japan

JAPAN

Yasuhisa Shiozaki Co-Chairman, UK-Japan 21st Century Group

Member of the House of Representatives (LDP)

Former Chief Cabinet Secretary

Hirotsugu Aida Managing Editorial Writer, Editorial Writers Office, Kyodo

News

Shinji Fukukawa Senior Advisor, Global Industrial and Social Progress

Research Institute (GISPRI)

Haruki Hayashi Senior Vice President, Regional CEO, Europe & Africa,

Mitsubishi Corporation; Managing Director, Mitsubishi

Corporation International (Europe) PLC

Keiichi Hayashi Japanese Ambassador to UK

Hirofumi Hirano Managing Director, KKR Japan

Shinjiro Koizumi Member of the House of Representatives (LDP)

Kiyoshi Kurokawa Chairman of the National Diet of Japan Fukushima Nuclear

Accident Independent Investigation Committee (2011-12);

Academic Fellow, National Graduate Institute for

Policy Studies; Chairman, Health and Global Policy Institute

Seiji Maehara Member of the House of Representatives (DPJ)

Former Minister for Foreign Affairs

Hiromichi Mizuno Partner, Coller Capital; Special Advisor to the Prime Minister

in charge of Growth Strategy for the Healthcare and Medical

Sectors

Mami Mizutori Executive Director, Sainsbury Institute for the Study of

Japanese Arts and Cultures

Akihisa Nagashima Member of the House of Representatives (DPJ)

Hiroshi Nakada Member of the House of Representatives (Japan Restoration

Party)

Ken Shibusawa Japanese Director, UK-Japan 21st Century Group

President, Japan Center for International Exchange

Graham Smith Executive Advisor to the President, Managing

Director, London Office, Toyota Motor Europe

Isami Takeda Professor of International Relations, Dokkyo University

Yasuo Tanabe Vice President and Executive Officer, Hitachi, Ltd

Hitoshi Tanaka Senior Fellow, Japan Center for International Exchange;

Chairman, Institute for International Strategy (IIS),

Japan Research Institute, Ltd

Observers

Shinichi Ishikawa Second Secretary, Embassy of Japan, London

Ryuji Iwasaki Deputy Director, Western Europe Division, European Affairs

Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Kyoko Kotari Institute for International Strategy (IIS), Japan Research

Institute, Ltd

Richard Morris Head of Pacific Department, Asia Pacific Directorate,

Foreign & Commonwealth Office

Yoshitake Naraoka First Secretary, Political Section, Embassy of Japan, London

Noriyuki Shikata Political Minister, Embassy of Japan, London

Jun Yamada Deputy Director-General, European Affairs Bureau, Ministry

of Foreign Affairs

Interpreters

Chieko Allford

Naoko Sawada

Takako Arii

Secretariat

Hifumi Tajima Senior Program Officer, Japan Center for International

Exchange

John Hemmings UK Secretariat